FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 200th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ΠN

MONDAY, 17TH DECEMBER, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (11)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives (Absent on leave)
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection

Ministers (2)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P. Minister Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne) (Absent - on leave)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister
 - * Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (10)

- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional
 (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent)
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport, Ministry of National Development (Absent)
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development (Absent)
- * Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister

Parliamentary Secretaries (6)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip (Absent Qu leave)
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent on leave)
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Transport

Other Members (15)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P.
- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P.
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. H.B. Walcott, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P. (Absent)

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent - on leave)

^{*} Non elected Minister

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent - on leave

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P., (Absent - on leave)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (M.B. Henry)

PRAY ERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

OATH - Cde. Harun Rashid, Minister of State

The Speaker informed the Assembly that Cde. Harun Rashid had been appointed a Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister with effect from 17th December, 1979, and that although Cde. Rashid was not an elected Member of the National Assembly, he had by virtue of his appointment as a Minister, become a Member of the Assembly. He stated that before Cde. Rashid could take part in the proceedings of the Assembly he would have to make and subscribe the Oath of Office as required by article 76 of the Constitution.

 $\sf Cde.\ Rashid\ who\ was\ present\ made\ and\ subscribed\ the\ Oath\ of\ Office.$

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) <u>Cde. J.R. Thomas - Re-assignment of Duties as Minister of State</u>

The Speaker informed the Assembly that Cde. Jeffrey Thomas, a Minister of State who had been assigned duties in the Office of the Prime Minister, had been re-assigned duties as a Minister of State in the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture, with effect from 17th December, 1979.

(ii) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (i) Cdes. Burnham, Hoyte, Kennard, Clarke, Bynoe,C. Jagan, J. Jagan, Mohamed, Basir and Noktafor that day's sitting, and
- (ii) Cde. Willems for the period 18th December, 1979 to 17th January, 1980.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

(1) By the <u>Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection</u>, on <u>behalf of the Prime Minister</u>:

External Trade Bureau (Dissolution) Order 1979 (No. 94), made under section 63 of the Public Corporations Act, Chapter 19:05, on the 6th of December, 1979, and published in the Gazette on the 8th of December, 1979.

(Circulated)

(2) By the Minister of Finance:

Financial Paper No. 3/1979 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates for the period ended 12th December, 1979, totalling \$14,138,218.

(ST: 10/4 TJ)(Circulated)

In terms of Standing Order No. 68, the Minister of Finance named Thursday, 20th December, 1979, as the day for the consideration of the Financial Paper.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS -

<u>Presentation and First Reading</u>

RATE OF INTEREST BILL 1979 - Bill No. 12/1979 published 15.12.79

The Minister of Finance, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE PRESCRIPTION OF A MAXIMUM RATE OF INTEREST IN ANY CONTRACT OR TRANSACTION.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.12 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 20th December, 1979.

PARLIAM_NT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 19th December, 1979