FIRST SESSION

1973 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 201st Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT. 2.03 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 20TH DECEMBER, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister(Absent - on leave)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (11)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives (Absent - on leave)

- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural
 - Resources (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection

Ministers (2)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne) (Absent)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent)

* Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (10)

- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi) Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport, Ministry of National Development
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development
- * Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister

Parliamentary Secretaries (6)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Primo Minister, and Government Chief Whip (Absent - on leave) Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of
- Agriculture
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Transport

Other Members (15)

Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P. Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. (Absent) Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. Cde. J. Gill, M.P. (Absent) Cde. W. Hussain, M.P. Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P. (Absent) Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P. Cde. A. Salim, M.P. Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P. Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P. Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P. Cde. H.B. Walcott, J.P., M.P. Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)

* Non elected Minister

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (12) Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent) Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent) Cde. I. Basir, M.P. Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent) Cde. R. Ally, M.P. Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. Cde. Dindayal, M.P. Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly ($M_{\bullet}B_{\bullet}$ Henry)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Burnham, Hoyte, Jack and Nokta for that day's sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTIONS

ITEM 1 - APPROVAL OF FINANCIAL PAPER NO. 3/1979

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to consider Financial Paper No. 3/1979.

In Committee of Supply

In accordance with article 80(2) of the Constitution, the Minister of Finance signified Cabinet's recommendation and moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That the Committee of Supply approve of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 3/1979 -Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates for the period ended 12th December, 1979, totalling \$14,138,218. After consideration of the Financial Paper the motion was put and <u>carried</u>.

Assembly resumed.

On a motion by the Minister of Finance, the Assembly adopted the following Resolution:

RESOLVED, That this National Assembly agree with the Committee of Supply in the following Resolution:

"RESOLVED, That the Committee of Supply approve of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 3/1979 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates for the period ended 12th December, 1979, totalling \$14,138,218."

ITEM 2 - APPROVAL OF EXTERNAL TRADE BUREAU (DISSOLUTION) ORDER 1979 (No. 94)

The Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection, on behalf of the Prime Minister, moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly in accordance with section 63(1) of the Public Corporations Act, Chapter 19:05, approve of the External Trade Bureau (Dissolution) Order 1979 (No. 94), which was made on 6th December, 1979, and published in the Gazette on 8th December, 1979.

Cde. N. Persaud and Mr. Singh spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

SYMPATHY TO CDE. KENNARD ON DEATH OF FATHER-IN-LAW

On behalf of the Members of the Assembly and himself, the Speaker extended sympathy to Cde. Kennard on the death of his father-in-law.

BUSINESS FOR THE NEXT SITTING

The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House stated that the next sitting of the Assembly would be held on Thursday, 27th December, 1979, and at that sitting the Rate of Interest Bill 1979, would be considered.

CHRISTMAS GREETINGS

The Speaker, on behalf of his wife and himself, extended Christmas Greetings to Members of the Assembly, the Staff of Parliament Office, the Press, and other Officials, and their families. The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the Heuse, the Deputy Speaker and Mr. Singh reciprocated the wishes to the Speaker and his family and also extended greetings to the other Membors of the Assembly, the Staff of Parliament Office, the Press and their families.

ADJOURNMENT

At 5.35 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 27th December, 1979.

liana S. NARAIN Speaker 79

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 24th December, 1979.