#### THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 202nd Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 27TH DECEMBER, 1979

## MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

#### Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

## Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

#### Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

## Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development (Absent)

### Senior Ministers (11)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- \* Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour
- \* Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent - on leave)
- \* Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance
- \* Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
- \* Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- \* Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent)
- \* Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer

# Ministers (2)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent)
  - \* Non elected Minister

### Ministers of State (10)

- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State ~ Regional (Rupununi) (Absent)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport, Ministry of National Development
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- \* Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development (Absent)
- \* Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister

## Parliamentary Secretaries (6)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip (Absent → on leave)
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Transport

#### Other Members (15)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P.
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cde. H.B. Walcott, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

### Members of the Opposition (16)

# (i) People's Progressive Party (14)

## Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent - on leave)

\* Non elected Minister

# Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

#### Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

Cde, P. Sukhai, M.P.

#### (ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

#### OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (M.B. Henry)

#### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

# ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

# Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Burnham, Jack, Carrington, C. Jagan, J. Jagan and Mr. Singh for that day's sitting.

# PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

# By the $\underline{\text{Minister of Works and Transport, on behalf of the}}$ Prime $\underline{\text{Minister:}}$

Guyana International Telecommunications Corporation (Dissolution) Order 1979 (No. 95), made under section 63 of the Public Corporations Act, Chapter 19:05, on 18th December, 1979, and published in the Gazette on 22nd December, 1979.

(C-15/1/3/4)(Circulated)

#### PUBLIC BUSINESS

## BILL - Second and Third Readings

# ITEM 1 RATE OF INTEREST BILL 1979 - Bill No. 12/1979 published 15.12.79

The Minister of Finance moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE PRESCRIPTION OF A MAXIMUM RATE OF INTEREST IN ANY CONTRACT OR TRANSACTION.

The Deputy Speaker spoke to the motion.

Thereafter, the Minister of Finance replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was, thereafter, taken through its remaining stages and <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u>.

#### MOTION

# ITEM 2 - APPROVAL OF GUYANA INTERNATIONAL TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION (DISSOLUTION) ORDER 1979 (No. 95)

The Minister of Works and Transport, on behalf of the Prime Minister, moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly in accordance with section 63(1) of the Public Corporations Act, Chapter 19:05, approve of the Guyana International Telecommunications Corporation (Dissolution) Order 1979 (No. 95), which was made on 18th December, 1979, and published in the Gazette on 22nd December, 1979.

The Deputy Speaker spoke to the motion.

Thereafter, the Minister of Works and Transport replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

## NEW YEAR GREETINGS

The Speaker, on behalf of his wife and himself, extended New Year Greeting to Members of the Assembly, the Staff of Parliament Office, the Press and other Officials and their families.

The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Deputy Speaker and Mr. Abraham reciprocated the wishes to the Speaker and his family, and also extended greetings to other Members of the Assembly, the Staff of Parliament Office, the Press and other Officials and their families.

## ADJOURNMENT

At 3.30 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.  $\fill M$ 

NARAIN Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 14th January, 1980

