NATIONAL ASSEMBLY MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 76th SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2015-2017) OF THE ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD <u>AT 10.00 A.M.,</u> ON WEDNESDAY, 6TH DECEMBER, 2017, IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, <u>BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN.</u> MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (69)

Speaker (1)

*Hon Dr. Barton U.A. Scotland, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT (36)

(i) <u>A Partnership For National Unity/Alliance For Change (36)</u>

First Vice-President and Prime Minister (1)

+ Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P., First Vice-President and Prime Minister

Other Vice-Presidents (3)

+ Hon. Carl B. Greenidge, M.P., Vice-President and Minister of Foreign Affairs

+Hon. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., Vice-President and Minister of Public Security

+*Hon. Sydney Allicock, M.S., M.P., Vice-President and Minister of Indigenous Peoples' Affairs

Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (1)

+ Hon. Basil Williams, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Senior Ministers (14)

+ Hon. Amna Ally, M.P., Minister of Social Protection and Government Chief Whip

- + Hon. Lt. Col. (Ret'd) Joseph F. Harmon, M.S.M., M.P., Minister of State
- + Hon. Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P., Minister of the Public Service

/...2

+ Cabinet Member *Non-Elected Member

- + Hon. Ronald A. Bulkan, M.P., Minister of Communities
- + Hon. Dr. George A. Norton, M.P., Minister of Social Cohesion
- + Hon. Winston D. Jordan, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent on leave)
- + Hon. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P., Minister of Natural Resources
- + Hon. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica), Minister of Public Health
- + Hon. David A. Patterson, M.P., Minister of Public Infrastructure
- + Hon. Catherine A. Hughes, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica), Minister of Public Telecommunications
- +*Hon. Winston G. Felix, D.S.M., M.P., Minister of Citizenship
- + Hon. Hans Dominic Gaskin, M.P., Minister of Business

+Hon. Noel L. Holder, M.P., Minister of Agriculture

+Hon. Nicolette O. Henry, M.P., Minister of Education

Ministers (8)

*Hon. Keith Scott, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Social Protection

Hon. Dawn Hastings-Williams, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni), Minister within the Ministry of Communities

Hon. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Public Infrastructure

Hon. Valerie Garrido-Lowe, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Indigenous Peoples' Affairs

Hon. Jaipaul Sharma, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica), Minister within the Ministry of Finance (Absent – on leave)

Hon. Dr. Karen Cummings, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica), Minister within the Ministry of Public Health

Hon. Simona Charles-Broomes, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Natural Resources

Hon. Valarie Patterson-Yearwood, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice), Minister within the Ministry of Communities

+ Cabinet Member *Non-Elected Member /...3

Other Members (9)

- Ms. Jennifer J. Wade, M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Ms. Rajcoomarie Bancroft, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)
- Mr. John Adams, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Mr. Richard Allen, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Mr. Michael Carrington, M.P.
- Mr. Jermaine Figueira, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)
- Mr. Charrandas Persaud, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Mr. Haimraj Rajkumar, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Mr. Audwin Rutherford, M.P.

MEMBERS OF THE OPPOSITION (32)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party (32)</u>

- Mr. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)
- Mr. Clement J. Rohee, M.P.
- Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Opposition Chief Whip
- Mr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Mr. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)
- Ms. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P. (Absent)
- Ms. Pauline Campbell-Sukhai, M.P.
- Mr. Odinga Lumumba, M.P.

- Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S., J.P., M.P.,
- Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.
- Dr. Vindhya V. Persaud, M.S., M.P.
- Ms. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.
- Mr. Joseph L.F. Hamilton, M.P.
- Mr. Collin D. Croal, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Ms. Gillian R. Burton-Persaud, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.P.
- Dr. Jennifer Westford, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
- Ms. Africo Selman, M.P.
- Mr. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne) (Absent on leave)
- Mr. Ganga Persaud, M.P.
- Ms. Yvonne Pearson- Fredericks, M.P.
- Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No.3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Dr. Vishwa D.B. Mahadeo, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Mr. Cornel Damon, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Mr. Alister S. Charlie, M.P. (Region No. 9 Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
- Mr. Nigel D. Dharamlall, M.P.
- Mr. Adrian V. Anamayah, M.P.
- Mr. Harry Gill, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Ms. Bhagmattie Veerasammy, M.P.
- Mr. Vickram O. Bharrat, M.P.

Officers (2)

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Ms. Hermina Gilgeours, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 10.10 a.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

PUBLIC BUSINESS -

(i) <u>GOVERNMENT BUSINESS</u>

MOTION

BUDGET SPEECH 2018 – MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2018

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2018.

(Moved by the Minister of Finance on 2017-11-27)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Adrian Anamayah The Minister within the Ministry of Natural Resources Ms. Africo Selman Ms. Jennifer Wade Dr. Bheri Ramsaran

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 12.00 p.m., the Sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 1.04 p.m., the Sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:
The Minister of Health
Dr. Vindhya Persaud
The Minister of Social Cohesion with responsibility for Culture, Youth and Sports
Ms. Indranie Chandarpal
The Minister of Citizenship
Ms. Gail Teixeira
Ms. Rajcoomarie Bancroft
The Vice-President and the Minister of Foreign Affairs

ADJOURNMENT

At 5.20 p.m., on a motion by the First Vice-President and Prime Minister the Assembly was adjourned to 10.00 a.m., on Thursday, 7th December, 2017.

HON. DR. BARTON U.A. SCOTLAND, O.R., C.C.H., M.P.,

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Brickdam, Georgetown.

6th December, 2017.