FIRST SESSION

1969

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 10th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

TUESDAY, 11TH MARCH, 1969

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj, C.B.E., J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C., Prime Minister.

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Minister of Finance.

The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

The Honourable M. Kasim, Minister of Communications.

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, Minister of Home Affairs.

The Honourable N.J. Bissember, Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs.

The Honourable C.M.L. John, Minister of Local Government

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security.

Mrs. the Honourable S.M. Patterson, Minister of Education.

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction.
The Honourable M.W.Carper Minister of

Information

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works and Hydraulics

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister without Portfolio.

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government.

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics.

A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

(iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.
Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue
Mr. O.E. Clarke, Deputy Speaker
Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler
Mrs. P.A. Limerick
Mr. S.M. Saffee
Mr. D.A. Singh
Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman
Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

(b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye

Mr. D.C. Jagan Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P.

Mr. G.H. Lall
Mr. M.Y. Ally
Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.
Mr. E.M. Stoby
Mr. R. Ally
Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. I. Remington, J.P.

Mrs. R.P. Sahoye Mr. V. Teekah Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Mrs. E. DaSilva

Mr. M.F. Singh

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Absent

The Hon. S.S. Ramphal, C.M.G., Q.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State

Dr. the Hon. Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health

Mr. C.E. Wrights - on leave

Mrs. L.M. Branco

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

His Honour the Speaker announced that -

Letter of thanks received from His Excellency the Governor-General

(i) A letter, which he later read, had been received from His Excellency the Governor-General, Sir David Rose, G.C.M.G., C.V.O., M.B.E., thanking him for copies of the Resolution passed by the National Assembly on 26th February, 1969, concerning his Speech addressed to the National Assembly on the occasion of the ceremonial opening of the First Session of the Second Parliament of Guyana, on 14th February, 1969, and also expressing good wishes to the Members of the National Assembly.

Leave

(ii) Leave had been granted to Mr. Wright for that day's sitting.

MOTIONS RELATING TO THE BUSINESS OR SITTINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY AND MOVED BY A MINISTER

His Honour the Speaker reminded the Assembly that as previously agreed the sitting would continue to 10.00 p.m.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

Item 1 - MOTION TO APPROVE THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDI-TURE FOR 1969

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the estimates of expenditure for the financial year 1969 totalling \$146,698,155 (excluding \$20,567,751 which is chargeable by law). (See motion at Appendix to Minutes of Thursday, 6th March, 1969).

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for tea.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.58 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

¥

Mr. Van Sluytman concluded his speech.

Mr. Cheeks and Mr. Ally spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

Mr. Stoby and the Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government, spoke to the motion.

Mr. Teekah was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 6.30 p.m. the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.10 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mr. Teekah concluded his speech.

The Minister of Education and Mr. M.F. Singh spoke to the motion.

Mr. Bhola Persaud was speaking to the motion when the time for the adjournment of the sitting was reached.

ADJOURNMENT

At 10.00 p.m. the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 12th March, 1969.

R.B. GAJRAJ Speaker