FIRST SESSION

1969

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 12th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 13TH MARCH, 1969

#### PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj, C.B.E., J.P.

#### (a) Members of the Government

## (i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C., Prime Minister.

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance.

The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

The Honourable M. Kasim, Minister of Communications.

The Honourable N.J. Bissember,
Minister of Trade and Parliamentary
Affairs.

The Honourable C.M.L. John, Minister of Local Government.

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security.

Mrs. the Honourable S.M. Patterson, Minister of Education.

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction.

The Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of Information.

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister without Portfolio.

Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health.

#### (ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government.

J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance.

Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister.

# (iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman

Mr. K. Bancroft Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P. Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. O.E. Clarke, Deputy Speaker

Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mrs. P.A. Limerick Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. D.A. Singh Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. C.E. Wrights

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

#### (b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh
Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye
Mr. D.C. Jagan
Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P.

Mr. G.H. Lall

Mr. M.Y. Ally
Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.
Mr. R. Ally
Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. I. Remington, J.P.

Mrs. R.P. Sahoye Mr. V. Teekah Mr. M.F. Singh

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

#### Absent

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, C.M.G., Q.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works and Hydraulics

Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics

Mr. E.M. Stoby Mr. R.E. Cheeks Mrs. E. DaSilva

#### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

#### PUBLIC BUSINESS

#### MOTION

# Item 1 - MOTION TO APPROVE THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1969

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the estimates of expenditure for the financial year 1969 totalling \$146,698,155 (excluding \$20,567,751 which is chargeable by law). (See motion at Appendix to Minutes of Thursday, 6th March, 1969).

The Minister of Housing and Reconstruction spoke to the motion.

The Leader of the Opposition was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

## SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for tea.

# RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.34 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Dr. Jagan concluded his speech.

Thereafter, the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance replied.

### CONGRATULATIONS TO MEMBERS

Before the adjournment was taken, His Honour the Speaker congratulated the Members who made their maiden speeches in the Assembly during the debate on the Governor-General's Address and on the Budget Speech.

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 6.50 p.m. on a motion by the Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Monday, 17th March, 1969.

RAHMAN B. GAJRAJ

SPEAKER

PUBLIC BUILDINGS, Georgetown.

17th March, 1969