SECOND PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

#### FIRST SESSION

## 1969

MINUTES of the proceedings of the 27th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

### AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

# WEDNESDAY, 25TH JUNE, 1969

## PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj, C.B.E., J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

# (i) Ministers

- Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance
- The Honourable M. Kasim, Minister of Communications
- The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, Minister of Home Affairs
- The Honourable N.J. Bissember, Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs
- The Honourable C.M.L. John, Minister of Local Government
- The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction
- The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister without Portfolio
- (ii) Parliamentary Secretaries
  - Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
  - Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance
  - Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics
  - Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources

1 ...

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

## (iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman Mr. K. Bancroft Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P. Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue Mr. O.E. Clarke, Deputy Speaker Mr. E.F. Correia Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mrs. P.A. Limerick Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. D.A. Singh Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mr. C.E. Wrights Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P. (b) Members of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye Mr. D.C. Jagan Mr. G.H. Lall, Mr. E.M. Stoby Mr. R. Ally Mr. E.L. Ambrose Mrs. L.M. Branco Mr. Balchand Persaud Mr. Bhola Persaud Mr. V. Teekah Mr. J.A. Sutton

Clerk of the National Assembly (Ag.) - Mr. M.B. Henry Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (Ag.) - Mr. R.H. Fraser

## Ausent

The	Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C.,		
	Prime Minister		
The	Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of		
	Agriculture and Natural Resources	-	on leave
	Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister		
	of Labour and Social Security	-	on leave
Mrs	. the Honourable S.M. Patterson,		
	Minister of Mincation		
The	Honourable S.S. Ramphal, C.M.G., G.C.,		
	Attorney-General and Minister of State		
The	Honourable M.W. Carter,		
	Minister of Information		
The	Honourable H. Green, Minister of		
•	Works and Hydraulics		
Dr.	the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister		
	of Health		
Dr.	C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition	-	on leave
	R. Chandisingh	-	on leave
	E.M.G. Wilson		
	A.M. Hamid, J.P.		
		-	on leave
	M.Y. Ally	_	on leave
	R.D. Persaud, J.P.	-	on reave
	I.R. Remington, J.P.		
	. R.P. Sahoye	-	on leave
	R.E. Cheeks		
	. E. DaSilva	-	on leave
Mr.	M.F. Singh	ensta	on leave

## PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

## ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

## Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mrs. DaSilva for that day's sitting.

/ ...

#### PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

## By the Minister of Finance:

Financial Paper No. 6/1969 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates for the period ending 30th June, 1969, totalling \$5,220,983.

(2/5 II) (Circulated)

In terms of Standing Order No. 69(1), the Minister named Monday, 30th June, 1969, as the day for consideration of the Financial Paper.

#### PUBLIC BUSINESS

#### MOTION

# ITEM 1 - MOTION TO EXTEND THE PERIOD DURING WHICH PART II OF NATIONAL SECURITY (MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS) ACT, 1966, SHALL BE IN FORCE

The Minister of Home Affairs moved the following motion:

WHEREAS it is provided by subsection (1) of section 14 of the National Security (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act, 1966, that no provisions of Part II of the said Act shall be in force after the expiration of a period of eighteen months commencing with the date of its enactment;

AND WHEREAS the said subsection provides that the said period may, before its expiration, be extended by resolution of the National Assembly for not more than one year at a time;

AND WHEREAS by Resolution No. XXXIV the National Assembly resolved that the said Part II shall be in force for a further period of one year commencing on 28th June, 1968;

AND WHEREAS the said period will expire on 27th June, 1969:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

That the period during which Part II of the National Security (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act, 1966, shall be in force be extended for one year commencing on 28th June, 1969.

1 ...

Mr. Jagan and Mr. Sutton spoke to the motion. Thereafter, the Minister of Home Affairs replied. The question was then put and <u>carried</u>.

### BUSINESS FOR NEXT SITTING

Before the adjournment was taken, the Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs announced that at the next sitting, the Assembly would proceed with the second reading of the Consumption Tax Bill, 1969 (Bill No. 13/1969 published on 19.6.69).

### ADJOURNMENT

At 2.32 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 26th June, 1969.

RATIMAN B GAJRAJ

Speaker.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

26th June, 1969.