#### SECOND PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

#### FIRST SESSION

# 1969

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 36th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara.

## AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

# FRIDAY, 29TH AUGUST, 1969

#### PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj, C.B.E., J.P.

# (a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C., Prime Minister

- Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance
- The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources
- The Honourable M. Kasim, Minister of Communications
- The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, Minister of Home Affairs
- The Honourable N.J. Bissember, Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs
- The Honourable C.M.L. John, Minister of Local Government
- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security
- Mrs. the Honourable S.M. Patterson, Minister of Education The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Housing and
- Reconstruction The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, C.M.G., Q.C., Attorney-
- General and Minister of State The Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of Information

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works and Hydraulics Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health

# (ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

- Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance
- Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics
- Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary,
- Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources
- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

# (iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman Mr. K. Bancroft Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P. Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue Mr. O.E. Clarke, Deputy Speaker Mr. E.F. Correia Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mrs. P.A. Limerick Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. D.A. Singh Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mr. C.E. Wrights Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

(b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition Mr. Ram Karran Mr. R. Chandisingh Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye Mr. D.C. Jagan' Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P. Mr. G.H. Lall Mr. M.Y. Ally Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P. Mr. E.M. Stoby Mr. R. Ally Mr. E.L. Ambrose Mrs. L.M. Branco Mr. Balchand Persaud Mr. Bhola Persaud Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. Mrs. R.P. Sahoye Mr. V. Teekah Mr. M.F. Singh Mr. J.A. Sutton Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Clerk of the National Assembly (Ag.) - Mr. M.B. Henry Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (Ag.) - Mr. R.H. Fraser

### Absent

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister without Portfolio Mr. E.M.G. Wilson Mrs. E. DaSilva

- on leave

### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

# ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

# Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mrs. DaSilva for that day's sitting.

# PUBLIC BUSINESS

# MOTION

# MOTION ON GUYANA BECOMING A REPUBLIC

Assembly resumed the debate on the following motion:

WHEREAS the Constitution of Guyana makes provision in paragraph (5) of article 73 thereof whereby Guyana may become a Republic and accordingly cease to be part of Her Majesty's dominions purruant to alterations to the Constitution set out in the Second Schedule thereto;

AND WHEREAS such provision requires a resolution of the National Assembly, upon a motion introduced by the Prime Minister, that Guyana shall become a Republic and that the said alterations to the Constitution shall have effect on such day after the passing of the resolution as may be specified therein;

AND WHEREAS by virtue of such provision notice of such a motion may be given on or after 1st January, 1969, but not less than three months before the National Assembly proceeds upon the motion;

AND WHEREAS in fulfilment of the processes of National Independence it is fitting that Guyana should become a Republic pursuant to the provisions of the Constitution;

AND WHEREAS the twenty-third day of February in each year commemorates the revolt of enslaved peoples on that day in the year one thousand seven hundred and sixty-three in the then Colony of Berbice - being the first significant blow struck for freedom in the territory now comprised in the State of Guyana:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by this National Assembly in pursuance of paragraph (5) of article 73 of the Constitution of Guyana that on the twenty-third day of February in the year one thousand nine hundred and seventy Guyana shall become a Republic and accordingly cease to be part of Her Majesty's dominions and that for that purpose the alterations to the Constitution of Guyana set out in the Second Schedule to the said Constitution shall have effect.

1 ...

Mr. Stoby, the Minister of Education, Mr. M.F. Singh and Mrs. Branco spoke to the motion. Mr. Teekah was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

#### SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for tea.

### RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.37 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mr. Teekah concluded his speech.

Mr. Sutton and Mr. Balchand Persaud spoke to the motion.

Thereafter, the Prime Minister replied.

The motion was then put and carried on the following division:

## FOR

## AGAINST

Mr. Sutton

Mr. M.F. Singh

2

1 ...

Mr. Cheeks Mr. Teekah Mrs. Sahoye Mr. Remington Mr. Bhola Persaud Mr. Balchand Persaud Mrs. Branco Mr. Ambrose Mr. R.D. Persaud Mr. Y. Ally Mr. Lall Mr. Jagan Dr. Ramsahoye Mr. Chandisingh Mr. Ram Karran Dr. Jagan Mr. Zaheeruddeen Mr. Wrights Mr. Van Sluytman Mr. D.A. Singh Mr. Saffee Mrs. Limerick Mr. Fowler Mr. Corrica Mr. Correia Mr. Clarke Mr. Chan -A-Sue Mr. Budhoo Mr. Bancroft Miss Ackman Mr. Aaron Mr. Thomas Mr. Salim Mr. Haynes Mr. Joaquin Mr. Duncan Mr. Ramsaroop Mrs. Patterson Mr. Carrington Mr. John Mr. Bissember Mr. Hoyte Mr. Kasim Mr. Jordan Dr. Reid Mr. Burnham

# REMARKS BY HIS HONOUR THE SPEAKER

His Honour the Speaker remarked that he was very happy to be associated with the Assembly on the historic occasion when the decision had been taken by the Assembly in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution of Guyana.

# FIRST COMMONWEALTH CONFERENCE OF SPEAKERS AND PRESIDING OFFICERS, OTTAWA, CANADA

His Honour the Speaker informed the Assembly that he would be attending, on behalf of Guyana, the First Commonwealth Conference of Speakers and Presiding Officers which would take place in Ottawa, Canada, early in September.

The Honourable Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs, on behalf of the Members of the Assembly extended to him wishes for a very pleasant trip to Canada and a successful holiday after the Conference.

# ADJOURNMENT

At 6.03 p.m. on a motion by the Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 4th September, 1969.

> GAJRAJ RAHMAN B. Speaker.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

30th August, 1969.