### SECOND PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FIRST SESSION

#### 1969 - 1970

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 60th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 8TH JANUARY, 1970

## PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj, C.B.E., J.P.

# (a) Members of the Government

### (i) Ministers

| The | Hone | ourable | L.F.S. | , Bu | rnham, | Q.C.,  | Prime | Minister |
|-----|------|---------|--------|------|--------|--------|-------|----------|
| Dr. | the  | Honoura | ble P  | .A.  | Reid,  | Deputy | Prime | Minister |
|     | and  | Ministe | r of   | Fina | nce    |        |       |          |

- The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources
- The Honourable M. Kasim, Minister of Communications
- The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, Q.C., Minister of Home Affairs
- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security
- The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Education (Leader of the House)
- The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction
- The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works and Hydraulics
- The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister without Portfolio

Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health

### (ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

- Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance
  Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
  Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics
  Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources
  Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- Mr. C.V. Mingo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government

# (iii) Other Members

Mr. O.E. Clarke, Deputy Speaker Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman Mr. K. Bancroft Mr. N.J. Bissember Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P. Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mrs. P.A. Limerick Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mr. C.E. Wrights Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

### (b) Members of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran Mr. R. Chandisingh Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye Mr. D.C. Jagan Mr. E.M.G. Wilson Mr. G.H. Lall Mr. M.Y. Ally Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P. Mr. R. Ally Mr. E.L. Ambrose Mrs. L.M. Branco Mr. Balchand Persaud Mr. Bhola Persaud Mrs. R.P. Sahoye Mr. V. Teekah Mrs. E. DaSilva Mr. J.A. Sutton Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

### Absent:

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Frade 20 The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, Kt., C.M.G., Q.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State The Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of Information and Culture Mr. E.F. Correia Mr. M. Corrica - on leave Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition - on leave Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P. - on leave Mr. E.M. Stoby - on leave Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. Mr. M.F. Singh - on leave

1 ...

# PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

#### PUBLIC BUSINESS

#### MOTION

### MOTION TO APPROVE THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1970

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1970, totalling \$173,448,058 (excluding \$22,125,994 which is chargeable by law). (See motion at Appendix to Minutes for sitting of 22nd December, 1969).

The Minister of Education (Leader of the House) and Mr. Chandisingh spoke to the motion.

Mr. Balchand Persaud was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

#### SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.03 p.m. the sitting was suspended for tea.

## RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.32 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mr. Balchand Persaud concluded his speech.

Mrs. Sahoye and the Minister of Health spoke to the motion.

### ADJOURNMENT

At 6.34 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Education (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, 9th January, 1970.

RAHMAN B. GAJRAJ Speaker.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

9th January, 1970.