FIRST SESSION

1969

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 48th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara.

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

FRIDAY, 14TH NOVEMBER, 1969

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj, C.B.E., J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C., Prime Minister

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance

The Honourable M. Kasim, Minister of Communications

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable N.J. Bissember, Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs

The Honourable C.M.L. John, Minister of Local Government

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security

Mrs. the Honourable S.M. Patterson, Minister of Education

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, C.M.G., Q.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State

The Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of Information

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works and Hydraulics

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister without Portfolio

Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics

Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary,
Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

(iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. O.E. Clarke, Deputy Speaker Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mrs. P.A. Limerick

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. D.A. Singh Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. C.E. Wrights

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

(b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye

Mr. D.C. Jagan

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. G.H. Lall

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. I.R. Remington, M.P.

Mrs. R.P. Sahoye

Mrs. E. DaSilva

Mr. M.F. Singh

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

Absent:

The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural

- on leave Resources,

Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby

Mr. V. Teekah

on leave

on leave

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

WELCOME TO HIS HONOUR THE SPEAKER

Before the commencement of Public Business, the Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs, on behalf of Members, welcomed His Honour the Speaker from his trip abroad. His Honour thanked the Minister but observed that he regretted the circumstances which had necessitated the change in his plans and his return on the previous evening.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

MOTION OF SYMPATHY ON THE DEATH OF SIR DAVID JAMES GARDINER ROSE, G.C.M.G., C.V.O., M.B.E., GOVERNOR-GENERAL AND COMMANDER-IN-CHIEF OF GUYANA

The Prime Minister moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That we, the Members of this National' Assembly, at this Special Sitting assembled, record our profound grief at the loss sustained by Guyana in the death of Sir David James Gardiner Rose, G.C.M.G., C.V.O., M.B.E., Governor-General and Commander-in-Chief of Guyana, and pay tribute to the service which he rendered to Guyana and direct that an expression of our heartfelt sympathy be conveyed to his sorrowing widow, children and relatives.

Dr. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition, seconded the motion.

Mr. M.F. Singh, the Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs, Mrs. DaSilva, Mrs. Limerick, Mr. Cheeks and Mrs. Sahoye supported the motion.

His Honour the Speaker also spoke on the occasion.

The Clerk then read the motion which was, thereafter, put and unanimously <u>carried</u> with Members standing.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3.50 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 20th November, 1969.

RAHMAN B. GAJRAJ

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.,

17th November, 1969.