SECOND PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA



MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 53rd Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

> AT 2.00 P.M. ON TUESDAY, 9TH DECEMBER, 1969

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj, C.B.E., J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C., Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister

- and Minister of Finance
- The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources
- The Honourable M. Kasim, Minister of Communications
- The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, Minister of Home Affairs The Honourable N.J. Bissember, Minister of Trade and
- Parliamentary Affairs
- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security
- The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction
- The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, C.M.G., Q.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State

The Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of Information The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister without Portfolio

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P.,

- Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics
- Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources
- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

(iii) Other Members

20

Mr. O.E. Clarke, Deputy Speaker Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman Mr. K. Bancroft Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P. Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue Mr. E.F. Correia Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mrs. P.A. Limerick Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mr. C.E. Wrights Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

(b) Members of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran Mr. R. Chandisingh Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye Mr. D.C. Jagan Mr. G.H. Lall Mr. M.Y. Ally Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P. Mr. R. Ally Mr. E.L. Ambrose Mrs. L.M. Branco Mr. Balchand Persaud Mr. Bhola Persaud Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. Mrs. R.P. Sahoye Mr. V. Teekah Mrs. E. DaSilva Mr. M.F. Singh Mr. J.A. Sutton Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain

Absent:

Mrs.	, the Honourable S.M. Patterson, Ministe	r		
	of Education			
The	Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works			
	and Hydraulics			
Dr.	the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister			
	of licalth			
	D.A. Singh	-	on	leave
Dr.	C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition	-	on	leave
Mr.	E.M.G. Wilson			
Mr.	A.M. Hamid, J.P.	-	on	leave
Mr.	E.M. Stoby			

1 ...

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (i) Mr. D.A. Singh for that sitting;
- (ii) Mr. Zaheeruddeen from sittings which may be held on 10th and 11th December, 1969.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

(1) PENSIONS (GOVERNOR-GENERAL, PARLIAMENTARY AND SPECIAL OFFICES) BILL, 1969 - Bill No. 31/1969

The Minister of Finance, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill, which was read the first time:

- A BILL intituled AN ACT TO MAKE PROVISION FOR THE PAYMENT OF SUPERANNUATION BENEFITS IN RESPECT OF SERVICE IN THE OFFICES OF GOVERNOR-GENERAL AND PRIME MINISTER AND IN OTHER PARLIAMENTARY AND SPECIAL OFFICES.
- (2) RENT RESTRICTION (AMENDMENT) BILL, 1969 -Bill No. 32/1969

The Minister of Housing and Reconstruction, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill, which was read the first time:

> A BILL intituled AN ACT TO EFFECT A CHANGE IN NAME OF THE RENT RESTRICTION ORDINANCE, TO PROVIDE FOR THE FURTHER CONTROL OF THE RENTALS OF PREMISES TO WHICH THAT ORDINANCE APPLIES AND FOR OTHER INCIDENTAL MATTERS CONNECTED THEREWITH.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Second and Third Readings

INCOME TAX (AMENDMENT) BILL, 1969 - Bill No. 30/1969 published 1.12.69

In accordance with article 80(2) of the Constitution, the Minister of Finance signified the recommendation of the Cabinet and moved the second reading of the BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE INCOME TAX ORDINANCE.

Mr. Ram Karran, Mr. Sutton, Mr. Balchand Persaud and Dr. Ramsahoye spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the Minister of Finance replied.

The motion was then put and carried on the following division:

AGAINST

H	
	Un
-	010

Mr. Cheeks	Mr. Sutton
Mr. Wrights	Mr. M.F. Singh
Mr. Van Sluytman	Mrs. DaSilva
Mr. Saffee	Mr. Teekah
Mrs. Limerick	Mrs. Sahoye
Mr. Fowler	Mr. Remington
Mr. Corrica	Mr. Bhola Persaud
Mr. Correia	Mr. Balchand Persaud
Mr. Chan-A-Sue	Mrs. Branco
Mr. Budhoo	Mr. Ambrose
Mr. Bancroft	Mr. R. Ally
Miss Ackman	Mr. R.D. Persaud
Mr. Aaron	Mr. Lall
Mr. Clarke	Dr. Ramsahoye
Mr. Thomas	Mr. Chandisingh
Mr. Salim	Mr. Ram Karran
Mr. Haynes	
Mr. Duncan	
Mr. Joaquin	
Mr. Ramsaroop	
Mr. Carrington	
Mr. Bissember	
Mr. Hoyte	
Mr. Kasim	
Mr. Jordan	
Dr. Reid	
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
26	16
	10

The Bill was then read a second time and was thereafter taken through its remaining stages and passed as printed.

EID-UL-FITR GREETINGS

Before the adjournment was taken, His Honour the Speaker, on his own behalf, extended to Members who were Muslims, best wishes for Eid-Ul-Fitr, and on behalf of the National Assembly, to the Muslim brethren in Guyana.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3.46 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, the 18th of December, 1969.

luna RAHMAN B. GAJRAJ

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 11th December, 1969.