FIRST SESSION

1969 - 1970

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 58th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara.

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

TUESDAY, 6TH JANUARY, 1940

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj, C.B.E., J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C., Prime Minister

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance

The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources

The Honourable M. Kasim, Minister of Communications

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, Q.C., Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security

The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Education (Leader of the House)

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade

The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

The Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of Information and Culture

Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics

Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary,
Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. C.V. Mingo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government

(iii) Other Members

Mr. O.E. Clarke, Deputy Speaker

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mrs. P.A. Limerick

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. C.E. Wrights

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

(b) Members of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye

Mr. D.C. Jagan

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. G.H. Lall

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P.

Mrs. R.P. Sahoye

Mr. V. Teekah

Mrs. E. DaSilva

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

Absent:

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, Kt., C.M.G., Q.C.,

Attorney-General and Minister of State

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works and Hydraulics

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister without Portfolio

Mr. M. Corrica

- on leave

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

- on leave - on leave

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P.

Mr. M.F. Singh

- on leave

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ITEM 1 - MOTION TO APPROVE THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1970

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1970, totalling \$173,448,058 (excluding \$22,125,994 which is chargeable by law). (See motion at Appendix to Minutes for sitting of 22nd December, 1969).

Mr. R. Ally concluded his speech.

Mr. D. Jagan spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Home Affairs was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for tea.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.35 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of Home Affairs concluded his speech.

Mrs. DaSilva and Mr. R.D. Persaud spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 6.35 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Education (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 7th January, 1970.

RAHMAN B. GAJRAJ

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

7th January, 1970.