FIRST SESSION

1969 - 1970

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 59th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

WEDNESDAY, 7TH JANUARY, 1970

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj, C.B.E., J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C., Prime Minister

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance

The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources

The Honourable M. Kasim, Minister of Communications

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security

The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Education (Leader of the House)

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade

The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

The Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of Information and Culture

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics

Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. C.V. Mingo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government

(iii) Other Members

Mr. O.E. Clarke, Deputy Speaker

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M. M. Ackman

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mrs. P.A. Limerick Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. C.E. Wrights

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

(b) Members of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye

Mr. D.C. Jagan

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. G.H. Lall

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P.

Mrs. R. P. Sahoye

Mr. V. Teekah

Mrs. E. DaSilva

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Clerk of the National Assembly Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

- Mr. F.A. Narain

- Mr. M.B. Henry

Absent:

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, Q.C., Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, Kt., C.M.G., Q.C.,

Attorney-General and Minister of State The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works and

Hydraulics

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister without Portfolio

Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health

Mr. M. Corrica on leave

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the

on leave Opposition

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P. on leave

Mr. M.F. Singh on leave

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

3.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

On a suggestion by His Honour the Speaker the Assembly agreed to proceed with item 2 on the Order Paper before taking item 1.

BILL - Second and Third Readings

TTEM 2 - PENSIONS (CONSOLIDATION) (AMENDMENT) BILL, 1969 - Bill No. 36/1969 pandlished 30.12.69

In accordance with article 80(2) of the Constitution, the Minister of Rivacce Edgnified the Cabinet's recommendation and moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE PENSIONS (CONSOLIDATION) ORDINANCE, 1957.

The question was put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was, thereafter, taken through its remaining stages and passed as printed.

MOTION

ITEM 1 - MOTION TO APPROVE THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1970

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1970, totalling \$173,448,058 (excluding \$22,125,994 which is chargeable by law). (See motion at Appendix to Minutes for sitting of 22nd December, 1969).

Mr. Stoby and Mr. Sutton spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 3.55 p.m. the sitting was suspended for tea.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.32 p.m. the sitting was resumed

The Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Mr. Cheeks, Mr. Duncan and Mrs. Branco spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 6.26 p.m. the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.05 p.m. the sitting was resumed with His Honour the Deputy Speaker in the Chair.

Mr. Wilson, Mr. Remington and Mr. Teekah spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 9.57 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Education (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 8th January, 1970.

RAHMAN B. GAJAAJ

Speaker

luan

PARLIAMENT OFFICE Public Buildings, Georgetown.

8th January, 1970.