SECOND SESSION

1970

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 2nd Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

DN

TUESDAY, 17TH MARCH, 1970

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj, J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance

The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources

The Honourable M. Kasim, Minister of Communications

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security

The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Education (Leader of the House)

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade

The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State

The Honourable M.W. Carter, C.C.H., Minister of & ...
Information and Culture

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister without Portfolio

Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary,
Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. C.V. Mingo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government

(iii) Other Members

Mr. O.E. Clarke, Deputy Speaker

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mrs. P.A. Limerick

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. C.E. Wrights

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

(b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye

Mr. D.C. Jagan

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P.

Mr. G.H. Lall

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P.

Mrs. R.P. Sahoye

Mr. V. Teekah

Mrs. E. DaSilva

Mr. M.F. Singh

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ELECTION OF THE PRESIDENT OF GUYANA

As determined by the Acting President under article 30(5) of the Constitution of Guyana, by the President (Date of Election) Order, 1970 (No. 13), made and published in the Gazette on 23rd February, 1970, the meeting of the Assembly was held for the purpose of electing the President of Guyana.

The persons who were candidates for election as President were Mr. Arthur Chung and Mr. Ashton Chase who were nominated in accordance with article 30(6) of the Constitution on 23rd F_ebruary, 1970.

In accordance with article 30(4) of the Constitution a secret ballot was taken for election to the effice of President of Guyana.

The number of votes received by each candidate was as follows:-

Mr. Arthur Chung - 34

Mr. Ashton Chase - 18

Mr. Chung, having received the votes of more than half of all the elected Members of the Assembly, was declared by His Honour the Speaker to be elected President of Guyana in accordance with article 30(8) of the Constitution.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 2.25 p.m. the sitting was suspended to enable the President-elect to attend the meeting to take and subscribe the oath of office.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

MR. E.V. LUCKHOO, S.C.

His Excellency the Acting President, Mr. E.V. Luckhoo, S.C., was received by the Assembly.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.32 p.m. the sitting was suspended to enable the Speaker, the Acting President, the Prime Minister, the Leader of the Opposition, the Leader of the United Force and their wives to meet the President-elect and his wife on their arrival at the Public Buildings.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.40 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

DATH OF PRESIDENT

The President-elect and his wife, escorted by the Acting President, the Prime Minister, the Leader of the Opposition and Leader of the United Force entered the Chamber.

In accordance with article 32A(1) of the Constitution, the Chancellor administered the oath of office to the President-elect.

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE PRESIDENT

The President was congratulated by -

- (i) His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj J.P.
- (ii) The Leader of the United Force, Mr. M.F. Singh
- (iii) The Leader of the Opposition, Dr. C.B. Jagan
- (iv) The Prime Minister, the Honourable L.F.S.
 Burnham, S.C., and
 - (v) Mr. R.E. Cheeks.

RECEIPT OF LETTER FROM THE STAFF AND PUPILS OF ST. ANTHONY'S ANGLICAN SCHOOL, WINDSOR FOREST, WEST COAST, DEMERARA

At this stage His Honour the Speaker read a letter addressed to His Excellency the President by the staff and pupils of St. Anthony's Anglican School, Windsor Forest, West Coast, Demerara, in connection with his nomination to the Office of President.

REPLY BY THE PRESIDENT

Thereafter, His Excellency the President, Mr. Arthur Chung, replied to the congretulatory speeches.

ADJOURNMENT

At 6.00 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Educations (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

RAHMAN B. GAJRAJ

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

18th March, 1970.