SECOND PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

SECOND SESSION

1970

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 22nd Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

DN

TUESDAY, 24TH NOVEMBER, 1970

PRESENT:

His Honour the Deputy Speaker, Mr. O.E. Clarke - In the chair.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

- The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister
- Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance
- The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources
- The Honourable M. Kasim, Minister of Communications
- The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Home Affairs
- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security
- The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Education (Leader of the House)
- The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction
- The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney General and Minister of State
- The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply
- The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister without Portfolio

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

- Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance
- Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply
- Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources
- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- Mr. C.V. Mingo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government.

(iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman Mr. K. Bancroft Mr. N.J. Bissember Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P. Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue Mr. E.F. Correia Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mrs. P.A. Limerick Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P.

(b) Members of the Opposition .

```
Mr. Ram Karran
Mr. R. Chandisingh
Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye
Mr. E.M.G. Wilson
Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P.
Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.
Mr. M.Y. Ally
Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.
Mr. R. Ally
Mr. E.L. Ambrose
Mrs. L.M. Branco
Mr. Bhola Persaud
Mrs. R.P. Sahoye
Mr. V. Teekah
Mrs. E. DaSilva
Mr. R.E. Cheeks
```

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

Absent:

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister on leave Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P. Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition on leave ----Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P. Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. - on leave Mr. Balchend Persaud Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. on leave Mr. M.F. Singh Mr. J.A. Sutton

PRAYERS

20

The Clerk read Prayers.

.

·

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

His Honour the Deputy Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. M.F. Singh for that day's Sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - MOTION ON THE AGGRESSION CARRIED OUT AGAINST THE PEOPLE AND TERRITORY OF THE REPUBLIC OF GUINEA

On a motion by the Prime Minister, Standing Order No. 23 was suspended to enable the Assembly to proceed with this item.

The Prime Minister then moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly -

CONDEMNS the aggression carried out against the Republic of Guinea by external military forces and mercenaries;

DEMANDS the immediate withdrawl from the territory of Guinea of all foreign armed forces engaged in aggression against the people and territory of the Republic;

WELCOMES the action taken by the Security Council in response to the protests to the United Nations from the President of the Republic of Guinea, and calls upon the United Nations to take all further steps necessary to bring an end to the violation of the territorial integrity of the Republic of Guinea.

Mr. Ram Karran seconded the motion. Mr. Teekah spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.05 p.m. the sitting was suspended for tea.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.37 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mrs. DaSilva, Mr. Wilson, Mr. Cheeks, and Mr. M.Y. Ally spoke to the motion.

> Thereafter, the Prime Minister replied . The motion was then put and carried.

ITEM 2 - MOTION TO AUTHORISE THE WRITE OFF OF LOSSES OF CASH AND STORES

Assembly resumed the debate on the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly authorise the write off of losses of Cash and Stores totalling \$83,026.57 detailed in the Schedule of Losses of Cash and Stores which was laid in the National Assembly on the 22nd of October, 1970.

Mr. Ram Karran concluded his speech. Mrs. DaSilva spoke to the motion. Thereafter, the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of

Finance replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

ADJOURNMENT

At 5.35 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Education Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Monday, the 30th of November, 1970.

100 aller.

O.E. Clarke

Deputy Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

26th November, 1970.