SECOND PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

SECOND SESSION

1970 - 1971

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 39th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 14TH JANUARY, 1971

PRESENT:

Mr. N.J. Bissember) In the His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.) Chair

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

(ii)

Dr.	the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister				
	and Minister of Agriculture				
The	Honourable M. Kasim, Minister of Communications				
The	Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Finance				
The	Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour				
	and Social Security				
The	Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of				
	Education				
The	Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade				
	(Leader of the House)				
The	Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs				
The	Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of Local Government				
The	Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics				
	and Supply				
The	Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Ferests				
Dr.	the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health				
Parliamentary Secretaries					

	J.6.	Joaquin,	J.P.,	Parliamentary	Secretary,
	Minis	stry of F	inance		

- Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

(iii) Other Members Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip Mr. K. Bancroft Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P. Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue Mr. E.F. Correia Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mr. R.J. Jordan Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P. Mrs. L.E. Willems (b) Members of the Opposition Mrs. E. DaSilva Mr. M.F. Singh Mr. J.A. Sutton Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry Absent: The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., - on leave Prime Minister The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State - on leave Mr. M. Corrica Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition Mr. Ram Karran Mr. R. Chandisingh Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C. Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker Mr. E.M.G. Wilson Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P. Mr. M.Y. Ally Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P. Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. Mr. R. Ally Mr. E.L. Ambrose Mrs. L.M. Branco - on leave Mr. Balchand Persaud Mr. Bhola Persaud Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. Mrs. R.P. Sahoye Mr. V. Teekah Mr. R.E. Cheeks

2.

ELECTION OF A MEMBER TO PRESIDE AT THE SITTING

In accordance with Standing Order No. 4(1), Mr. N.J. Bissember, nominated by the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House), and seconded by the Minister of Finance, was elected to preside in the absence of a Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

The sitting of the Assembly was, thereafter, convened with Mr. Bissember in the Chair.

The Clerk read Prayers.

DATH

Mr. Sase Narain, J.P., M.P., elected Speaker of the National Assembly made and subscribed the oath of office.

CONGRATULATORY REMARKS

The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture, on behalf of the Members of the Government and on his own behalf, and the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House), congratulated His Honour on his election as Speaker of the National Assembly.

His Honour thanked the Members for their remarks.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) The Prime Minister from the 8th of January to the 5th of February, 1971, and
- (b) Mr. Corrica from the 5th of January to the 28th of February, 1971.

QUESTIONS TO MINISTERS

QUESTIONS NOS. 6 and 7

These questions were not asked as Mrs. DaSilva and Mr. R. Ally were not present at the time.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTIONS

ITEM 1 - MOTION TO CONFIRM CUSTOMS DUTIES (EXEMPTION FROM IMPORT DUTIES) ORDER, 1970 (No. 109)

The Minister of Finance moved the following motion which was put and <u>carried</u>:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly in terms of section 9 of the Eustoms Ordinance, Chapter 309, confirm the Eustoms Duties (Exemption from Import Duties) Order, 1970 (No. 109), which was made on the 26th November, 1970, and published in the Gazette on the 5th December, 1970.

1

3.

ITEM 2 - MOTION TO CONFIRM CONSUMPTION TAX (AMENDMENT) ORDER, 1970 (No. 113)

The Minister of Finance moved the following motion which was put and <u>carried</u>:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly in accordance with section 5 of the Consumption Tax Act, 1969 (No. 13), confirm the Consumption Tax (Amendment) Order, 1970 (No. 113), which was made on the 26th November, 1970, and published in the Gazette on the 12th December, 1970.

ITEM 3 - MOTION TO CONFIRM CUSTOMS (PROHIBITION OF IMPORTS) ORDER, 1970 (No. 116)

The Minister of Finance moved the following motion which was put and <u>carried</u>:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly in accordance with section 9 of the Customs Ordinance, Chapter 309, confirm the Customs (Prohibition of Imports) Order, 1970 (No. 116), which was made on the 10th December, 1970, and published in the Gazette on the 16th December, 1970.

DEPARTURE OF THE SPEAKER FROM GUYANA

His Honour announced that he would be out of Guyana for three weeks from Saturday, the 16th of January, 1971.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3.12 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

SASE NARAIN

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 16th January, 1971.