SECOND PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

342

SECOND SESSION

1970 - 1971

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 41st Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

FRIDAY, 26TH FEBRUARY, 1971

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

(ii)

	Dr.	the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister
		and Minister of Agriculture
	The	Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Finance
	The	Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour
		and Social Security
	The	Honourable Miss 5.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of
		Education
	The	Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade
		(Leader of the House)
	The	Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and
		Reconstruction
	The	Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs
X	The	Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of Local Government
~	The	Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-General and
		Minister of State
	The	Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests
	The	Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests
		Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests
	Par	
	Par	Liamentary Secretaries
	Parl Mr.	Liamentary Secretaries J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary,
	Parl Mr.	Liamentary Secretaries J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance
	Parl Mr. Mr.	Liamentary Secretaries J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary,
	Parl Mr. Mr.	Liamentary Secretaries J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
	Par: Mr. Mr. Mr.	Liamentary Secretaries J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary,
	Par: Mr. Mr. Mr.	Liamentary Secretaries J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
	Pari Mr. Mr. Mr. Mr.	J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary,
	Pari Mr. Mr. Mr. Mr.	Liamentary Secretaries J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
	Pari Mr. Mr. Mr. Mr. Mr.	J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary,
	Pari Mr. Mr. Mr. Mr. Mr.	J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

(iii) Other Members

```
Mr. J.N. Aaron
Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip
Mr. K. Bancroft
Mr. N.J. Bissember
Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.
Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue
Mr. E.F. Correia
Mr. M. Corrica
Mr. E.H.A. Fowler
Mr. R.J. Jordan
Mr. S.M. Saffee
Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman
Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.
Mrs. L.E. Willems
```

(b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition Mr. Ram Karran Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker Mr. E.M.G. Wilson Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., [pposition Whip Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P. Mr. M.Y. Ally Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P. Mr. Bhola Persaud Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. Mrs. R.P. Sahoye Mr. V. Teekah Mrs. E. DaSilva Mr. M.F. Singh

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

Absent:

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of Communications The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health Mr. R. Chandisingh Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C. - on leave Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. Mr. R. Ally Mr. E.L. Ambrose Mrs. L.M. Branco Mr. Balchand Persaud on leave Mr. J.A. Sutton on leave Mr. R.E. Cheeks

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) <u>Cancellation of sitting of 25th February</u>

His Honour the Speaker stated that owing to the discussions which had been taking place on Bills for consideration, it had been decided to cancel the sitting fixed for Thursday, 25th February, and to hold it on that, Friday, 26th February, 1971.

(ii) Congratulations to the Honourable M. Kasim, A.A.

On behalf of the Members and himself, His Honour took the opportunity to extend heartiest congratulations to the Minister of Communications, the Honourable Mohamed Kasim, on the award to him of the Golden Arrow of Achievement for outstanding services as a farmer for many years and for contributions to the public sector.

(iii) Leave

His Honour announced that leave had been granted to Mr. Sutton for that day's sitting.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

BAUXITE NATIONALISATION BILL. 1971

The Minister of Mines and Forests, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

> A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE CONSTITUTION TO PROVIDE FOR SUCH PUBLIC OWNERSHIP AND CONTROL OF BAUXITE UNDERTAKINGS IN GUYANA AS MAY BE NECESSARY TO SECURE THE INTERESTS OF THE PEOPLE AND TO PROMOTE THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE NATIONAL ECONOMY, AND FOR MATTERS CONNECTED THEREWITH AND INCIDENTAL THERETO.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTIONS

ITEM 1 - MOTION TO ENABLE THE ASSEMBLY TO SIT ON SATURDAY, 27TH FEBRUARY, 1971

The Minister of Trade (Leader of the House) moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly agree that Standing Orders Nos. 8 and 9 be suspended to enable the Assembly to sit on Saturday, the 27th of February, 1971, at 9.00 o'clock in the forenoon, to consider the following Bills:-

1

(i) The Bauxite Nationalisation Bill, 1971.

(ii) The Minerals Bill, 1971.

Mr. M.F. Singh spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the motion was put and carried.

ITEM 2 - MOTION OF SYMPATHY ON DEATH OF MR. J.A. VEERASAMMY

On a motion by the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House), seconded by Mr. Ram Karran, and supported by Mr. M.F. Singh, the Assembly unanimously passed the following Resolution, with all standing in silence for one minute as a mark of respect:

> RESOLVED, That this National Assembly expresses its deep regret at the death of Mr. J.A. Veerasa my and its desire that its sympathies be conveyed to his relatives.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.32 p.m., the Assembly was adjourned to 9.00 a.m. on Saturday, the 27th of February, 1971.

NARA IN Daker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown,

27th February, 1971.