SECOND SESSION

1970 - 1971

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 46th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara.

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

MONDAY, 29TH MARCH, 1971

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of Communications

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Finance

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade (Leader of the House)

The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of Local Government

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

(iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mr. R.J. Jordan

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

Mrs. L.E. Willems

(b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C..

Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip

Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P.

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P.

Mrs. R.P. Sahoye

Mr. V. Teekah

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

Absent:

The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Education

The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests

Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health

Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.F. Correia

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition - on leave

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh - on leave

Mr. Balchand Persayd - on leave

Mr. Bhola Persaud - on leave

Mrs. E. DaSilva - on leave

Mr. M.F. Singh - on leave

PRAYERS

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (i) Dr. Jagan for two weeks from that day's sitting :
- (ii) Mr. Bhola Persaud, Mr. M.F. Singh and Mrs. DaSilva for that day's sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - MOTION TO APPROVE FINANCIAL PAPER NO. 1 OF 1971

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to consider Financial Paper No. 1 of 1971.

In Committee of Supply

In accordance with article 80(2) of the Constitution, the Minister of Finance signified the Cabinet's recommendation, and moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That the Committee of Supply approve of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 1 of 1971 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates for 1970, totalling \$1,540,317.36.

The following correction was made to "SECTION B" of the Schedule:

Item No. 6: Substitution of the words "Guyana National Co-operative Bank" for the words "Co-operative Credit Bank" at Subhead 4.

The motion was put and carried.

Assembly resumed.

On a motion by the Minister of Finance, the Assembly adopted the following Resolution:

RESOLVED, That this National Assembly agree with the Committee of Supply in the following Resolution:

"RESOLVED, That the Committee of Supply approve of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 1 of 1971 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates for 1970, totalling \$1,540,317.36."

CONGRATULATIONS TO MRS. R.P. SAHDYE

His Honour the Speaker, on behalf of the Members of the Assembly and himself, extended congratulations and best wishes to Mrs. R.P. Sahoye who was married recently to Dr. V. Shury.

The Minister of Trade (Leader of the House), associated himself with the remarks.

Mrs. Sahoye thanked His Honour and the Members for the kind wishes.

ADJOURNMENT

At 4.30 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, the 1st of April, 1971.

S. NARAIN

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

31st March, 1971.