SECOND SESSION

1970 - 1971

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 47th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

FRIDAY, 2ND APRIL, 1971

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister

and Minister of Agriculture

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of Communications

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Finance

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade (Leader of the House)

The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of Local Government

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

(iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mr. R.J. Jordan Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

Mrs. L.E. Willems

(b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C.

Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip

Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P.

Mrs. R.P. Sahoye

Mr. V. Teekah

Mrs. E. DaSilva

Mr. M.F. Singh

- Mr. F.A. Narain Clerk of the National Assembly Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

Absent:

The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley,

Minister of Education

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests

Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot,

Minister of Health

Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

Mr. E.F. Correia

- on leave Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P.

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

on leave

on leave

- on leave

1 ...

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. Sutton for that day's sitting.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Minister of Communications:

Guyana Telecommunication Corporation Annual Report, 1968.
(C 12/4/1 III)(Circulated)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Second and Third Readings

LOCAL AUTHORITIES (ELECTIONS) (AMENDMENT) BILL, 1971 - Bill No. 7/1971 published 25. 3. 71

The Minister of Home Affairs moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES (ELECTIONS) ACT, 1969.

Mr. Wilson, Mr. M.F. Singh, Mr. Lall and Mr. R. Ally spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Home Affairs replied.

Thereafter, the motion was put and carried.

The Bill was then read a second time.

Assembly resolved itself into Committee to consider the Bill Clause by Clause.

In Committee

Clauses 1 and 2 were passed as printed.

Assembly resumed.

On a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs, the Bill was read the third time and massed as printed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3.40 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House) the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

S. NARAIN
Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

5th April, 1971.

