THIRD SESSION

1971

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 1st Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

FRIDAY, 14TH MAY, 1971

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of Communications

The Honourable H.B. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Finance

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security

The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Education

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade (Leader of the House)

The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of Local Government The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-General and

Minister of State

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests Er. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary,
Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

(iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mr. R.J. Jordan

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

Mrs. L.E. Willems

(b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C.

Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip

Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P.

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P.

Mrs. R.P. Sahoye

Mr. V. Teekah

Mrs. E. DaSilva

Mr. M.F. Singh

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Mr. . R.E. Cheeks

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

PROCLAMATION SUMMONING THE SESSION OF PARLIAMENT

The Clerk read the Proclamation made by the President and published in the Gazette on the 6th of May, 1971, proclaiming that a session of Parliament shall be held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Guyana, and shall begin at 2.00 o'clock in the afternoon on Friday, 14th May, 1971.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 2.08 p.m. the sitting was suspended to enable the Speaker to receive Their Excellencies the President and Mrs. Chung.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 2.40 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

ARRIVAL OF THEIR EXCELLENCIES THE PRESIDENT AND MRS. CHUNG

Their Excellencies the President and Mrs. Chung entered the Chamber and took their places on the Dais.

ADDRESS BY HIS EXCELLENCY THE PRESIDENT

His Excellency read the Address for the present Session of Parliament presented to him by the Prime Minister and thereafter presented the copy to His Honour the Speaker.

THANKS TO HIS EXCELLENCY

His Honour the Speaker, on behalf of the Members of the Assembly, thanked His Excellency.

WITHDRAWAL OF THEIR EXCELLENCIES THE PRESIDENT AND MRS. CHUNG.

Thereafter, Their Excellencies withdrew from the Chamber.

PRESENTATION OF PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS TO THE ASSEMBLY

His Honour the Speaker presented the President 's Address to the Assembly.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3.15 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, the 19th of May, 1971.

NARAIN

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 18th May, 1971.