SECOND PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

THIRD SESSION

## 1971

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 8th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Consitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

WEDNESDAY, 16TH JUNE, 1971

### PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

## (a) Members of the Government

#### (i) Ministers

The	Honourable	M. Ka	sim, A.	A., M:	inister	of	Communications
The	Honourable	H.D.	Hoyte,	S.C.,	Ministe	I C	of Finance

- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security
- The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Education
- The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade (Leader of the House)
- The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction
- The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs
- The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of Local Government
- The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply
- Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health

#### (ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

- Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance
- Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

## (iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip Mr. K. Bancroft Mr. N.J. Bissember Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P. Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue Mr. E.F. Correia Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mr. R.J. Jordan Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P. Mrs. L.E. Willems

## (b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition Mr. Ram Karran Mr. R. Chandisingh Mr. E.M.G. Wilson Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P. Mr. M.Y. Ally Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P. Mr. E.L. Ambrose Mrs. L.M. Branco Mr. Balchand Persaud Mr. Bhola Persaud Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. Mrs. R.P. Sahoye Mrs. E. Da Silva

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Nerain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

### Absent:

Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C.,			
Prime Minister			
the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy			
Prime Minister and Minister of			
Agriculture	-	on	leave
Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C.,			
Attorney-General and Minister of			
State			
Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of			
Mines and Forests			
F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C.			
D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker			
E.M. Stoby, J.P.			
R. Ally ~			
V. Teekah	-	on	le ave
M.F. Singh	-	on	leave
J.A. Sutton	-	on	leave
R.E. Cheeks			
	Prime Minister the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker E.M. Stoby, J.P. R. Ally ~ V. Teekah M.F. Singh J.A. Sutton	Prime Minister the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture - Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker E.M. Stoby, J.P. R. Ally ~ V. Teekah - M.F. Singh - J.A. Sutton -	Prime Minister the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture - on Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker E.M. Stoby, J.P. R. Ally ~ V. Teekah - on M.F. Singh - on J.A. Sutton - on

1 ...

## PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

# 2.

## ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

#### Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. M.F. Singh and Mr. Sutton for that day's sitting.

## PUBLIC BUSINESS

#### MOTIONS

## ITEM 1 - MOTION TO AUTHORISE THE WRITE OFF OF LOSSES OF CASH

In accordance with article 8D(2) of the Constitution, the Minister of Finance signified the Cabinet's recommendation and moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly authorise the write off of Losses of Cash totalling \$13,443 detailed in the Schedule of Losses of Cash and Stores which was laid in the National Assembly on 20th May, 1971.

The Leader of the Opposition spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the Minister of Finance replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

### SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDER NO. 23(3)

On a motion by Mr. Ram Karran, seconded by Mr. Chandisingh, Standing Order No. 23(3) was suspended to enable Item 2 on the Order Paper to be proceeded upon at that sitting.

#### ITEM 2 - MOTION ON THE WITHDRAWAL OF THE DEFENCE LEVY

Mr. Ram Karran moved the following motion:

WHEREAS the 3% Defence Levy when imposed in 1969 was intended for one year only;

AND WHEREAS the Levy has continued to be in force and has undoubtedly increased the already high cost of living:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That the Defence Levy be withdrawn immediately.

Mr. Chandisingh seconded the motion but reserved the right to speak later.

Mrs. Da Silva, Mr. Balchand Persaud, Mr. Lall and the Minister of Finance spoke to the motion.



At 4.00 p.m., the Leader of the Opposition was speaking to the motion when the debate was interrupted to enable the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House), to move the suspension of Standing Order No. 9(2).

## SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDER NO. 9(2)

On a motion by the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House), Standing Order No. 9(2) was suspended to enable the sitting to continue beyond 4.00 p.m.

#### RESUMPTION OF DEBATE ON THE DEFENCE LEVY

The Leader of the Opposition concluded his speech.

Thereafter, the motion was put and negatived.

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 4.06 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, the 17th of June, 1971.

The anami

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 17th June, 1971.