THIRD SESSION

1971

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 11th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara.

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

TUESDAY, 22ND JUNE, 1971

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sass Narain, J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of Communications

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Finance

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Lebour and Social Security

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade (Leader of the House)

The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs
The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of Local Government

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

(iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mr. R.J. Jordan

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

Mrs. L.E. Willems

(b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C.

Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip

Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mrs. R.P. Sahoye

Mrs. E. Da Silva

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain
Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

Absent:

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C.,

Prime Minister

The Honourable Miss 5.M. Field-Ridley,

Minister of Education

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests

Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P.

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P.

Mr. V. Teekah

Mr. M.F. Singh

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

- on leave

- on leave

on leave

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers,

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. M.F. Singh and Mr. Sutton for that day's sitting.

STATEMENTS BY MINISTERS

Flood in the Mahaica Area

The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture made a statement on the flood in the Mahaica Area.

REQUESTS FOR LEAVE TO MOVE THE ADJOURNMENT OF THE ASSEMBLY ON DEFINITE MATTERS OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE

Flood in the Mahaica Area

Mr. Ram Karran sought leave to move the adjournment of the Assembly to discuss the flood in the Mahaica Area.

His Honour the Speaker did not allow the claim as he did not agree that the matter to be discussed satisfied all the conditions of a matter which could properly be raised on a motion for the adjournment of the Assembly.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - MOTION TO CONFIRM CUSTOMS DUTIES (EXEMPTION FROM IMPORT DUTIES) ORDER, 1971 (No. 31)

The Minister of Finance moved the following motion which was put and <u>carried</u>:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly, in terms of section 9 of the Customs Ordinance, Chapter 309, confirm the Customs Duties (Exemption from Import Duties) Order, 1971 (No. 31), which was made on the 4th of June, 1971, and published in the Gazette on the 12th of June, 1971.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3.30 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, the 24th of June, 1971.

SI NARA IN Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 23rd June, 1971.