#### THIRD SESSION

1971

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 12th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 24TH JUNE, 1971

#### PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

#### (a) Members of the Government

### (i) Ministers

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of Communications

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Finance

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security

The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Education

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade (Leader of the House)

The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of Local Government

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

#### (ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary,
Ministry of Finance

Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary,
Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

# (iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mr. R.J. Jordan

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

Mrs. L.E. Willems

# (b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C.

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip

Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P.

Mrs. E. Da Silva

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain
Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

#### Absent:

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C.,

Prime Minister

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C.,

Attorney-General and Minister of State

The Honourable H.O. Jack,

Minister of Mines and Forests

Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot,

Minister of Health

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P.

Mrs. R.P. Sahoye

Mr. V. Teekah

Mr. M.F. Singh Mr. R.E. Cheeks - on leave

## PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

## Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. M.F. Singh for that day's sitting.

### STATEMENTS BY MINISTERS

# Expiration of Part II of the National Security (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act. 1966

The Minister of Home Affairs made a Statement on Government's intention not to seek a further extension of Part II of the National Security (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act, 1966, due to expire on 27th June, 1971.

## PUBLIC BUSINESS

#### MOTION

## MOTION TO SUSPEND STANDING ORDER NO. 46(3)

On a motion by the Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply, Standing Order No. 46(3) was suspended to enable Item 1 on the Order Paper to be proceeded upon at that sitting.

# BILL - Second and Third Readings

# ITEM 1 - SEA DEFENCE (AMENDMENT) BILL. 1971 - Bill No. 13/1971 published 19.6.71

The Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE SEA DEFENCE ORDINANCE AND TO MAKE MINOR AMENDMENTS TO THE CIVIL LAW OF GUYANA ORDINANCE AND THE STATE LANDS ORDINANCE.

Mr. Balchand Persaud, Mr. Hamid, Mr. R. Ally, Dr. Ramsahoye and Mr. Sutton spoke to the motion.

Thereafter, the Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time.

Assembly resolved itself into Committee to consider the Bill clause by clause.

#### In Committee

Clause 1 was passed as printed.

- Clause 2 The following amendments by Mr. Ram Karran were put and <u>negatived</u>:
  - (i) Substitution of the following for paragraph (a) and redesignation of the existing paragraphs as (b), (c), (d), (e), (f) and (g) respective ly:
    - "(a) by the substitution of the following subsection for section 12(3):-
      - (3) A person whose estate, interest in or right over property is vested in the State under this section and who held immediately prior to the vesting, holdings or interests therein not exceeding two hundred acres shall be entitled to prompt payment by the Board of adequate compensation for his estate, interest or right in the land so vested and in any other case the President may, if he think fit, direct the Board to pay a specified sum to any person in respect of any preperty which is so vested and the Board shall make the payment so directed.";
  - (ii) Substitution of the words "five hundred dollars" for the words "one thousand dollars" in paragraph (a).

The following amendment by Mr. R.D. Persaud was put and <u>negatived</u>:

Substitution of the words "five hundred dollars" for the words "two thousand dollars" in paragraph (c).

Clause 2 was then passed as printed.

Clause 3 was passed as printed.

### Assembly resumed.

On a motion by the Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply, the Bill was read the third time and passed as printed.

## ADJOURNMENT

At 3.40 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

Marain S. NARAIN

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 25th June, 1971.