SECOND PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

### THIRD SESSION

# 1971

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 16th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

# AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

# MONDAY, 12TH JULY, 1971

# PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P. ...

# (a) Members of the Government

- (i) Ministers
  - Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture
  - The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of Communications
  - The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Finance
  - The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Education
  - The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade (Leader of the House)
  - The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

The Honourable D.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of Local Government Dr. the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister of Health

### (ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

# (iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip Mr. N.J. Bissember Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P. Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue Mr. E.F. Correia Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mr. R.J. Jordan Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mrs. L.E. Willems

# (b) Members of the Opposition

2.

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition Mr. Ram Karran Mr. R. Chandisingh Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C. Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker Mr. E.M.G. Wilson Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P. Mr. M.Y. Ally Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P. Mr. R. Ally Mr. E.L. Ambrose Mrs. L.M. Branco Mr. Balchand Persaud Mr. Bhola Persaud Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. Mr. V. Teekah Mrs. E. Da Silva Mr. M.F. Singh Mr. J.A. Sutton Mr. R.E. Cheeks Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry Absent: The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary, Office of the Prime Minister Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture Mr. K. Bancroft Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P. - on leave Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. Mrs. R.P. Sahoye - on leave

# PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

# INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

# Presentation and First Reading

# PRIVATE HOSPITALS BILL, 1971 - Bill No. 15/1971

The Minister of Health, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

> A BILL intituled AN ACT TO MAKE PROVISION FOR THE LICENSING OF PRIVATE HOSPITALS AND FOR PURPOSES CONNECTED THEREWITH.

### PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

#### MOTION TO CONFIRM CUSTOMS DUTIES (AMENDMENT) ORDER, ITEM 1 1971 (No. 35)

The Minister of Finance moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly, in terms of section 9 of the Customs Ordinance, Chapter 309, confirm the Customs Duties (Amendment) Order, 1971 (No. 35), which was made on the 23rd of June, 1971, and published in the Gazette on the 26th of June, 1971.

Mr. Ram Karran, Mr. R.D. Persaud, the Leader of the Opposition, Mr. M.F. Singh and Mr. Cheeks spoke to the motion.

Thereafter, the Minister of Finance replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.44 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House). the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

5. NARAIN

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 16th July, 1971.