THIRD SESSION

1971

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 19th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

WEDNESDAY, 4TH AUGUST, 1971

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of Communications

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Finance The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and

Social Security
The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of

Education
The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Trade (Leader

The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of Local Government The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

and Supply

of the House)

Mr. J.G. Joequin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

(iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mr. R.J. Jordan

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mrs. L.E. Willems

(b) Members of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip

Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P.

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. V. Teekah

Mrs. E. DaSilva

Mr. M.F. Singh

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

Absent:

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C. Attorney-General and Minister of

State

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests

Mr. K. Bancroft - on leave

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. M. Corrica - on leave

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P. - on leave

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition - on leave

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C. - on leave

Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.R.

Mrs. R.P. Sahoye - on leave

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. Bancroft and Mr. Zaheeruddeen for that day's sitting.

QUESTIONS TO MINISTERS

QUESTION NO. 8

Mr. R. Ally asked the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture the following question:

Question:

Will the Minister say why rice farmers are required to pay 36¢ for water transportation on every bag of rice they deliver to the Rice Marketing Board's bond at Springlands when grading and blending is taking place at the bond?

The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture gave the following reply:

Answer:

Delivery of all consignments of rice must be made at the Board's Warehouse in Georgetown. A single schedule of purchase prices which is published every year includes this condition and is therefore applied to all purchases, irrespective of the area in which the rice is produced.

The fact that the Board erected a Blending Plant at Corriverton (Springlands) in 1965 does not change the situation because the farmer, if he had to sell at the Central Warehouse, would have had to pay the freight.

A Supplementary question was asked by Mr. R. Ally.

QUESTION NO. 9

Mr. M.Y. Ally asked the Minister of Finance the following question:

Question: Will the Minister state what was the value of -

- (a) Imports from CARIFTA countries for the three-month period January-March, 1971?
- (b) Exports to CARIFTA countries for the same three-month period?

The Minister of Finance gave the following reply:

- Answer: (a) Imports from CARIFTA countries for the three-month period January-March, 1971 \$8,529,714.
 - (b) Exports to CARIFTA countries for the same three-month period \$7,425,004.

QUESTION NO. 10

Mr. M.Y. Ally asked the Minister of Finance the following question:

Question: Will the Minister state what was the Customs Revenue for the three-month periods January-March, 1970, and January-March, 1971?

The Minister of Finance gave the following reply:

- Answer: (a) Customs revenue for the threemonth period January-Marc h, 1970, was \$14,252,997.
 - (b) Customs revenue for the threemonth period January- March, 1971, was \$13,715,495.

Supplementary questions were asked by Mr. M.Y. Ally.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION RECOMMENDING THE CONSTRUCTION OF A ROAD THROUGH SOPHIA TO THE EAST BANK ROAD

Mr. Wilson moved the following motion:

WHEREAS vehicular traffic through Georgetown is excessive and can be reduced considerably if traffic originating from the East Bank for the East Coast and vice versa is diverted by the construction of a "ring road" joining the two roads at convenient points near Georgetown:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly recommends the early construction of a public road through Sophia to meet the East Bank Road at Meadow Bank.

Mr. Ram Karran seconded the motion and reserved the right to speak later.

Mr. M.F. Singh, the Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply and Mr. Ram Karran spoke to the motion.

Thereafter, the motion was put and negatived on the following division:

FOR	AGAINST	DECLINED TO VOTE
Mr. Teekah Mr. Balchand Persaud Mrs. Branco Mr. Ambrose Mr. R. Ally Mr. R.D. Persaud Mr. M.Y. Ally Mr. Lall Mr. Hamid Mr. Wilson Mr. Chandisingh Mr. Ram Karran	AGAINST Mrs. Willems Mr. Van Sluytman Mr. Saffee Mr. Jordan Mr. Fowler Mr. Correia Mr. Chan-A-Sue Mr. Budhoo Miss Ackman Mr. Aaron Mr. Wrights Mr. Thomas Mr. Salim Mr. Haynes Mr. Duncan Mr. Joaquin Mr. Mingo Mr. Clarke Mr. D.A. Singh	Mr. M.F. Singh Mrs. Da Silva
	Mr. Ramsaroop Miss Field-Ridley Mr. Carrington	
	Mr. Hoyte Mr. Kasim Dr. Reid	
12	25	2
12	25	2

ADJOURNMENT

At 3.12 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Trade (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Monday, the 9th of August, 1971.

· NARAIN

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

9th August, 1971.