THIRD SESSION

1971

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 34th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

MONDAY, 13TH DECEMBER, 1971

#### PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

### (a) Members of the Government

### (i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of Communications

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Finance

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction (Leader of the House)

The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Trade

The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of Local Government

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests

The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education

## (ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

# (iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mr. R.J. Jordan

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. M. Zahesruddeen, J.P.

## (b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C.

Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P.

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P.

Mr. L.A. Durant

Mr. V. Teekah

Mrs. E. DaSilva

Mr. M.F. Singh

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

#### Absent:

The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Health

The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of State for Co-operatives and Community Development

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

The Honourable E.B. McDavid, Minister of Information and Culture

Mrs. L.E. Willems

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip

Mr. Bhola Persaud

- on leave

- on leave

on leave

### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

#### Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that an extension of leave had been granted to Miss Field-Ridley up to 31st December, 1971.

### PUBLIC BUSINESS

## MOTION

### MOTION TO APPROVE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1972

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1972, totalling \$197,846,560. (See Appendix to Minutes of 32nd Sitting held on Tuesday, 7th December, 1971).

The Minister of Labour and Social Security concluded his speech.

Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud and Mrs. Da Silva spoke to the motion.

Mr. Van Sluytman was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

#### SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

## RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mr. Van Sluytman concluded his speech.

Dr. Ramsahoye and Mr. M.Y. Ally spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Trade was speaking to the motion when the adjournment was taken.

### ADJOURNMENT

At 6.28 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Housing and Reconstruction (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Tuesday, the 14th of December, 1971.

NARAIN

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 14th December, 1971.