THIRD SESSION

1971

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 39th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

DN

MONDAY, 20TH DECEMBER, 1971

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of Communications

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Finance

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction (Leader of the House)

The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Trade

The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of Local Government

The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of State for Co-operatives and Community Development

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests

The Honourable E.B. McDavid, Minister of Information and Culture

The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply

(iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mr. R.J. Jordan

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

Mrs. L.E. Willems

(b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C.

Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip

Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby. J.P.

Mr. R. Ally

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P.

Mr. L.A. Durant

Mr. V. Teekah

Mr. M.F. Singh

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain
Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

Absent:

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C.,

Prime Minister

The Honourable Miss 5.M. Field-Ridley,

Minister of Health - on leave

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mr. Bhola Persaud

- on leave

Mrs. E. DaSilva

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

MOTION TO APPROVE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1972

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to resume consideration of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1972 totalling \$197,846,560. (See Appendix to Minutes of 32nd Sitting held on Tuesday, the 7th of December, 1971).

In Committee of Supply

DIVISION XI - MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND

CULTURE was passed as printed at ... \$ 262,000

HEAD 19 - MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS was passed as printed at ... 426,620

HEAD 20 - MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS - POLICE was under consideration when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

Assembly resumed.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.02 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.32 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to resume consideration of the Estimates of Expenditure for 1972.

In Committee of Supply

HEAD 20 - MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS - POLICE was under consideration when the time agreed for the adjournment was reached.

Assembly resumed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 6.37 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Housing and Reconstruction (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Tuesday, the 21st of December, 1971.

S. NARAIN

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 21st December, 1971.