# SECOND PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

THIRD SESSION

# 1971 - 1972

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 51st Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

#### AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

#### THURSDAY, JOTH MARCH, 1972

#### PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

### (a) Members of the Government

### (i) Ministers

- Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture
- The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Finance
- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security
- The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Health The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction (Leader of the House)
- The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Trade
- The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs
- The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of Local Government
- The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply
- (ii) Parliamentary Secretaries
  - Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance
  - Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
  - Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
  - Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

(iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip Mr. K. Bancroft Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P. Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue Mr. E.F. Correia Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mr. R.J. Jordan Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P. Mrs. L.E. Willems

# (b) Members of the Opposition

Mr.	Ram Karran
Mr.	R. Chandisingh
Dr.	F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C.
Mr.	E.M.G. Wilson
Mr.	A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip
Mr.	M.Y. Ally
Mr.	Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P.
	E.M. Stoby, J.P.
Mr.	R. Ally
Mr.	E.L. Ambrose
Mrs	L.M. Branco
Mr.	Balchand Persaud
Mr.	Bhola Persaud
Mr.	I.R. Remington, J.P.
	V. Teekah
Mrs	. E. DaSilva
Mr	I.A. Sutton

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

### Absent:

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C.,	
Prime Minister	
The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of	- on leave
Communications	
The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of State for	
Co-operatives and Community Development	
The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Attorney-	
General and Minister of State	
The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines	
and Forests	
The Honourable E.B. McDavid, Minister of	
Information and Culture	
The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of	
Education	
Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary,	
Ministry of Works, Hydraulics and Supply Mr. N.J. Bissember	
Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition	
Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker	
Mr. G.H. Lell, J.P.	- on leave
Mr. L.A. Durant	- on leave
Mr. M.F. Singh	
Mr. R.E. Cheeks	*

### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

### Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to

(a) Mr. Kasim for one month from 15th March, 1972, and

(b) Mr. Lall for two months from 13th March, 1972.

### PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

- (1) By the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture on behalf of the Prime Minister:
  - (a) National Working Hours Commission Report.

(Circulated)

(b) Public Corporations Order, 1972 (No. 28), made under section 2C(4) of the Public Corporations Ordinance, 1962 (No. 23), on the 21st of March, 1972, and published on the 25th of March, 1972.

(PC-6/1)(Circulated)

### (2) By the Minister of Finance:

Reports of the Directors of the New Widows and Orphans' Fund on the Working of the Fund for the years 1965 and 1966.

(G.105/54 III)(Circulated)

### INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation of First Reading

#### GUYANA WATER AUTHORITY BILL 1972 - Bill No. 2/1972

The Minister of Works, Hydraulics and Supply, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

> A BILL intituled AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE ESTABLISH-MENT OF THE GUYANA WATER AUTHORITY AND FOR MATTERS CONNECTED THEREWITH.

# PUBLIC BUSINESS

### MOTION

# MOTION ON THE EXEMPTION OF GUYANA MORTGAGE FINANCE COMPANY, LIMITED, FROM PROPERTY TAX

In accordance with article 80(2) of the Constitution, the Minister of Finance signified Cabinet's recommendation and moved the following motion:

WHEREAS by Agreement of 11th July, 1968, between the Government of Guyana, the Commonwealth Development Corporation and the Guyana Mortgage Finance Company, Limited, the said Corporation and the said Company agreed to provide financing for housing development in Guyana;

AND WHEREAS under the terms of the said Agreement the Government agreed to take such action as may be necessary to enable the Guyana Mortgage Finance Company, Limited, to be exempted from the application of the Property Tax Ordinance 1962;

AND WHEREAS paragraph (w) of section 6 of the said Ordinance authorises the National Assembly, by resolution, to exempt from the provision. of the said Ordinance any person or authority other than those specified in the said section 6:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

That in pussuance of the said Agreement and of the aforesaid provision of the said Ordinance, the Guyana Mortgage Finance Company, Limited, shall be exempt from the provisions of the said Ordinance with effect from 11th July, 1968.

Mr. Sutton, Mr. Chandisingh and Dr. Ramsahoye spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the Minister of Finance replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

### ADJOURNMENT

At 3.00 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Housing and Reconstruction (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Tuesday, the 4th of April, 1972.

S. NARAIN

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 4th April, 1972.