## SECOND SESSION

1967

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 2nd Sitting of the National Assembly of Guyana under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 10TH AUGUST, 1967

## PRESENT:

His Honour the Deputy Speaker. Mr. R.C. Tello - In the Chair

#### (a) Members of the Government

#### (i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham Q.C., Prime Minister

The Honourable Dr. P.A. Reid, Minister of Trade The Honourable N.J. Bissember, Minister for

Parliamentary Affairs (Leader of the House)
The Honourable R.E. Cheeks, Minister of Local Government

The Honourable E.F. Correia, Minister of Communications

The Honourable Mrs. W. Gaskin, Minister of Education

The Honourable L. John, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of
Agriculture and Natural Resources
The Hon. W.O.R. Kendall, C.B.E., J.P.,
Minister of Health and Housing

The Honourable C.A. Merriman, Minister of Labour and Social Security

The Honourable M.F. Singh, Minister of Works and Hydraulics

The Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of Information

#### (ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. D.B. deGroot, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. G. Bowman, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Mr. O.E. Clarke, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education

Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics

Mr. C.V. Too-Chung, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

## (iii) Other Members

Mr. W.A. Blair

Mr. J. Budhoo Mr. M. Kasim

Mr. R.G. Field-Ridley

Mr. D. Mahraj Mr. H. Prashad, J.P.

Mr. J.H. Thomas

Rev. A.B. Trotman

Mr. H.M.S. Wharton, J.P.

#### (b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. A. Chase Mr. B.H. Benn

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Mr. H.J.M. Hubbard

Dr. Charles Jacob, Jr.

Mr. C.V. Nunes

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson
Mr. M. Hamid, J.P.
Mr. J.R.S. Luck
Mr. D.C. Jagan
Mr. H. Iall
Mr. M. Khan, J.P.
Mr. L. Linde
Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.
Dr. S.A. Ramjohn
Mr. M. Bhagwan

Mr. M. Bhagwan

Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

### Absent

The Honourable P.S. d'Aguiar,

Minister of Finance o i - on leave

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, C.M.G., Q.C.,

Attorney-General and Minister of State - on leave

Mr. W.G. Carrington
Mr. T.A. Sancho
Mr. Y. Ally
Mr. M.N. Poonai - on leave

Mr. E.M. Stoby

Mr. S.M. Saffee

### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

## Messages of Condolence

His Honour the Deputy Speaker announced that further messages of condolence on the death of the Speaker were received from:

- The Speaker of the Trinidad and Tobago House of Representatives, and
- The President of the Eastern Berbice Union of Local Authority

# Leave

His Honour the Deputy Speaker announced that leave had been granted to:-

- (i) Mr. Ramphal from that day's sitting, and
- (ii) Mr. Singh for the period 11th August to 16th August, 1967

## PUBLIC BUSINESS

## MOTION

# DEBATE ON THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL'S ADDRESS

Rev. Trotman moved and Mr. Prashad seconded the following motion:-

### BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly direct that an expression of its sincere appreciation and thanks be conveyed to His Excellency the Governor-General for the Gracious Speech addressed to the Assembly on the occasion of the Opening of the Second Session of the First Parliament of Guyana under the Constitution of Guyana, on Tuesday, 8th August, 1967.

Dr. Jagan spoke to the motion.

## SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for tea.

## RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.38 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Assembly resumed the debate on Rev. Trotman's motion.

Mr. Nunes and the Minister of Education spoke to the motion.

Mr. Benn was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

## SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 6.30 p.m. the sitting was suspended.

# RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.07 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mr. Benn concluded his speech.

The Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources spoke to the motion.

Mr. Luck was speaking to the motion when the time for the adjournment was reached.

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 10.00 p.m. on a motion by the Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, 11th August, 1967.

DEPUTY SPEAKER

PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN, GUYANA