FIRST PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

SECOND SESSION

1967

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 3rd Sitting of the National Assembly of Guyana under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

FRIDAY, 11TH AUGUST, 1967

PRESENT:

His Honour the Deputy Speaker, Mr. R.C. Tello - In the Chair

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

	The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C., Prime Minister
	The Honourable Dr. P.A. Reid, Minister of Trade
	The Honourable N.J. Bissember, Minister for
	Parliamentary Affairs (Leader of the House)
	The Honourable R.E. Cheeks, Minister of Local
	Government
	The Honourable E.F. Correia, Minister of
	Communications
	The Honourable Mrs. W. Gaskin, Minister of
	Education
	The Honourable L. John, Minister of Home Affairs
1	The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of
	Agriculture and Natural Resources
	The Hon. W.O.R. Kendall, C.B.E., J.P.,
	Minister of Health and Housing
	The Honourable C.A. Merriman, Minister of Labour
	and Social Security
	The Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of Information
(ii)	Parliamentary Secretaries
(77)	Tar mamentary becrevaries
	Mr. D.B. deGroot, Parliamentary Secretary,
	Office of the Prime Minister
	Mr. G. Bowman, Parliamentary Secretary,
	Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources
	Mr. O.E. Clarke, Parliamentary Secretary,
	Ministry of Education
	Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary,
	Ministry of Local Government
	Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary
	Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulios
	Mr. C.V. Too-Chung, Parliamentary Secretary,
	Ministry of Finance

(iii) Other Members

Mr. W.A. Blair Mr. J. Budhoo Mr. M. Kasim Mr! R.G. Field-Ridley Mr! H. Prashad, J.P. Mr. J.H. Thomas Rev. A.B. Trotman Mr. H.M.S. Wharton, J.P.

(b) Memtiers of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition Mr. A. Chase Mr. B.H. Benn Mr. Ram Karran Mr. Ram Karran Mr. R. Chandisingh Mr. H.J.M. Hubbard Dr. Charles Jacob, Jr. Mr. C.V. Nunes Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye Mr. E.M.G. Wilson Mr. M. Hamid, J.P. Mr. J.R.S. Luck Mr. D.C. Jagan Mr. H. Lall Mr. M. Khan, J.P. Mr. L. Linde Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P. Mr. M.N. Poonai Dr. S.A. Ramjohn Mr. M. Bhagwan

Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

Absent

The Honourable P.S. d'Aguiar, Minister of Finance - on leave The Honourable M.F. Singh, Minister of Works and Hydraulics - on leave The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, C.M.G., Q.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State - on leave Mr. W.G. Carrington - on leave Mr. D. Mahraj - on leave Mr. T.A. Sancho Mr. Y. Ally Mr. E.M. Stoby Mr. S.M. Saffee

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

His Honour the Deputy Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. Mahraj for that day's sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

DEBATE ON THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL'S ADDRESS

Assembly resumed the debate on the following motion:-

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly direct that an expression of its sincere appreciation and thanks be conveyed to His Excellency the Governor-General for the Gracious Speech addressed to the Assembly on the occasion of the Opening of the Second Session of the First Parliament of Guyana under the Constitution of Guyana, on Tuesday, 8th August, 1967.

Mr. Luck concluded his speech.

Mr. Khan spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Trade was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for tea.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.40 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of Trade concluded his speech.

Mr. Bhagwan spoke to the motion.

Mr. Lall was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 6.30 p.m. the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.14 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mr. Lall concluded his speech.

Dr. Ramjohn and the Minister of Health and Housing spoke to the motion.

Mr. Hubbard was speaking to the Motion when the time for the adjournment of the sitting was reached.

ADJOURNMENT

At 10.00 p.m. on a motion by the Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Monday, 14th August, 1967.

DEPUTY SPEAKER

PUBLIC BUILDINGS, Georgetown. 14th August, 1967.