#### SECOND SESSION

1967

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 4th Sitting of the National Assembly of Guyana under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara.

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

MONDAY, 14TH AUGUST, 1967

#### PRESENT:

His Honour the Deputy Speaker, Mr. R.C. Tello - In the Chair

Members of the Government (a)

(i) Ministers

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C.,

Prime Minister

The Honourable Dr. P.A. Reid, Minister of Trade The Honourable N.J. Bissember, Minister for

Parliamentary Affairs (Leader of the House)

The Honourable R.E. Cheeks, Minister of Local Government

The Honourable E.F. Correia, Minister of Communications

The Honourable Mrs. W. Gaskin, Minister of Education

The Honourable L. John, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources

The Honourable W.O.R. Kendall, C.B.E., J.P., Minister of Health and Housing

The Honourable C.A. Merriman, Minister of Labour and Social Security

The Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of Information

# (ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. D.B. deGroot, Parliamentary Secretary,

Office of the Prime Minister
Mr. G. Bowman, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Mr. O.E. Clarke, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education

Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics

Mr. C.V. Too-Chung, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

# (iii) Other Members

Mr. W.A. Blair

Mr. J. Budhoo

Mr. M. Kasim

Mr. R.G. Field-Ridley

Mr. D. Mahraj Mr. H. Prashad, J.P. Mr. J.H. Thomas

Rev. A.B. Trotman

Mr. H.M.S. Wharton, J.P.

#### (b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. A. Chase

Mr. B.H. Benn

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Mr. H.J.M. Hubbard Dr. Charles Jacob, Jr.

Mr. C.V. Nunes

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. M. Hamid, J.P. Mr. J.R.S. Luck

Mr. H. Lall Mr. M. Khan, J.P.

Mr. Y. Ally Mr. L. Linde

Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby

Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

#### Absent

The Honourable P.S. d'Aguiar, Minister of Finance - on leave

The Honourable M.F. Singh, Minister of Works

and Hydraulics - on leave

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, C.M.G., Q.C.,

Attorney-General and Minister of State - on leave

Mr. W.G. Carrington

Mr. T.A. Sancho

Mr. D.C. Jagan Mr. M.N. Poonai

Dr. S.A. Ramjohn Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. M. Bhagwan

#### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

## ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

### Leave

His Honour the Deputy Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. d'Aguiar up to the 31st August, 1967.

## PUBLIC BUS INESS

#### MOTION

## DEBATE ON THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL'S ADDRESS

Assembly resumed the debate on the following motion:BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly direct that an expression of its sincere appreciation and thanks be conveyed to His Excellency the Governor-General for the Gracious Speech addressed to the Assembly on the occasion of the Opening of the Second Session of the First Parliament of Guyana under the Constitution of Guyana, on Tuesday, 8th August, 1967.

Mr. Hubbard concluded his speech.

Dr. Jacob, the Minister of Labour and Social Security and Mr. Ram Karran spoke to the motion.

Mr. Wilson was speaking to the motion when the time agreed for the adjournment was reached.

## ADJOURNMENT

At 4.00 p.m., on a motion by the Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Tuesday, 15th August, 1967.

DEPUTY SPEAKER

PUBLIC BUILDINGS, Georgetown.

15th August, 1967