FIRST PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

SECOND SESSION

1967

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 5th Sitting of the National Assembly of Guyana under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

TUESDAY, 15TH AUGUST, 1967

## PRESENT:

His Honour the Deputy Speaker, Mr. R.C. Tello - In the Chair

- (a) Members of the Government
  - (i) Ministers

|      | The     | Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C.,<br>Prime Minister. |
|------|---------|---|
|      | The     | Hongurable Dr. P.A. Reid, Minister of Trade.        |
|      | The     | Honourable N.J. Bissember, Minister for             |
|      |         | Parliamentary Affairs (Leader of the House).        |
|      | mbo     | Honourable R.E. Cheeks, Minister of Local           |
|      | THE     | Government  |
|      | The     | Honourable E.F. Correia, Minister of                |
|      | THE     |   |
|      | -       | Communications.                                     |
|      | The     | Honourable Mrs. W. Gaskin, Minister of              |
|      | -       | Education.  |
|      |         | Honourable L. John, Minister of Home Affairs.       |
|      | The     | Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of                 |
|      |         | Agriculture and Natural Resources.                  |
|      | The     | Honourable W.O.R. Kendall, C.B.E., J.P.,            |
|      |         | Minister of Health and Housing                      |
|      | The     | Honourable C.A. Merriman, Minister of Labour        |
|      |         | and Social Security                                 |
|      | The     | Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of Information     |
|      |         |   |
|      |         |   |
| (ii) | Par     | liamentary Secretaries                              |
|      |         |   |
|      | Mr.     | D.B. deGroot, Parliamentary Secretary,              |
|      |         | Office of the Prime Minister.                       |
|      | Mr.     | G. Bowman, Parliamentary Secretary,                 |
|      |         | Ministry of Agriculture and Natural                 |
|      |         | Resources.  |
|      | Mr.     | O.E. Clarke, Parliamentary Secretary,               |
|      | Aldah . | Ministry of Education,                              |
|      | Mar     | P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary,                 |
|      | THT .   | Ministry of Local Government.                       |
|      | Ma      |   |
|      | TITT    | C.V. Too-Chung, Parliamontary Secretary,            |
|      |         | linistry of Finance,                                |
|      |         |   |

# (iii) Other Members

Mr. W.A. Blair Mr. J. Budhoo Mr. M. Kasim Mr. R.G. Field-Ridley Mr. D. Mahraj Mr. H. Prashad, J.P. Mr. T.A. Sancho Mr. J.H. Thomas Rev. A.B. Trotman Mr. H.M.S. Wharton, J.P.

### (b) Members of the Oppesition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition Mr. A. Chase Mr. B.H. Benn Mr. Ram Karran Mr. R. Chandisingh Mr. H.J.M. Hubbard Dr. F.H.W. Remsahoye Mr. E.M.G. Wilson Mr. M. Hamid, J.P. Mr. J.R.S. Luck Mr. D.C. Jagan Mr. H. Lall Mr. M. Khan, J.P. Mr. L. Linde Mr. E.M. Stoby Mr. M. Bhagwan

Clerk of the National Assembly - -Mr. F.A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly-Mr. M.B. Henry

#### Absent

The Honourable P.S. d'Aguiar, Minister of Finance - on leave The Honourable M.F. Singh, Minister of Works and Hydraulics - on leave The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, C.M.G., Q.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State - on leave Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics-on leave Mr. W.G. Carrington Dr. Charles Jacob, Jr. Mr. C.V. Nunes Mr. Y. Ally Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P. - on leave - on leave Mr. M.N. Poonai Dr. S.A. Ramjohn Mr. S.M. Saffee

### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

-2-

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

### Resolution of Sympathy

His Honour the Deputy Speaker announced that a resolution of sympathy passed on the death of the Speaker had been received from the Kitty and Alexanderville Village Council.

#### Leave

His Honour the Deputy Speaker announced that the following Members had been excused as they were accompanying the Chairman of the General Council of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, on a visit to the Kaieteur Falls:

Mr. Jeaquin Mr. Budhoo Rev. Trotman Mr. Nunes Mr. Ally

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs on behalf of the Minister of Works and Hydraulics

Annual Report and Financial Statement of the Board of Commissioners of the East Demerara Water Conservancy for the year ending 31st December, 1966. (D.I. 23/3)

#### PUBLIC BUSINESS

#### MOTION

DEBATE ON THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL'S ADDRESS

Assembly resumed the debate on the following motion:-

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly direct that an expression of its sincere appreciation and thanks be conveyed to His Excellency the Governor-General for the Gracious Speech addressed to the Assembly on the occasion of the Opening of the Second Session of the First Parliament of Guyana under the Constitution of Guyana, on Tuesday, 8th August, 1967.

Mr. Wilson concluded his speech.

Mr. Stoby and Mr. Chandisingh spoke to the motion.

Mr. Chase was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

#### SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for tea.

### RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.40 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mr. Chase concluded his speech.

The Prime Minister then replied.

Thereafter the motion was put and carried.

### ADJOURNMENT

At 6.52 p.m. on a motion by the Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 24th August, 1967.

Deputy Speaker

PUBLIC BUILDINGS, Georgetown,

18th August, 1967