FIRST PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

SECOND SESSION

1967

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 9th Sitting of the National Assembly of Guyana under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

TUESDAY, 29TH AUGUST, 1967

PRESENT:

His Honour the Deputy Speaker, Mr. R.C. Tello - In the Chair

(a) Members of the Government

- (i) Ministers
 - The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C., Prime Minister
 - Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Minister of Trade
 - The Honourable N.J. Bissember, Minister for Parliamentary Affairs (Leader of the House)
 - The Honourable R.E. Cheeks, Minister of Local Government
 - The Honourable E.F. Correia, Minister of Communications
 - The Honourable L. John, Minister of Home Affairs
 - The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources
 - The Honourable W.O.R. Kendall, C.B.E., J.P., Minister of Health and Housing
 - The Honourable C.A. Merriman, Minister of Labour and Social Security
 - The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, C.M.G., Q.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

- Mr. D.B. deGroot, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- Mr. G. Bowman, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources
- Mr. O.E. Clarke, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education
- Mr. P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government
- Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics
- Mr. C.V. Too-Chung, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

(iii) Other Members Mr. W.A. Blair Mr. J. Budhoo Mr. M. Kasim Mr. R.G. Field-Ridley Mr. D. Mahraj Mr. H. Prashad, J.P. Mr. T.A. Sancho Mr. J.H. Thomas Rev. A.B. Trotman Mr. H.M.S. Wharton, J.P. (b) Members of the Opposition Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition Mr. B.H. Benn Mr. Ram Karran Mr. R. Chandisingh Mr. H.J.M. Hubbard Mr. C.V. Nunes Mr. E.M.G. Wilson Mr. M. Hamid, J.P. Mr. D.C. Jagan Mr. H. Lall Mr. M. Khan, J.P. Mr. Y. Ally Mr. L. Linde Dr. S.A. Ramjohn Mr. E.M. Stoby - Mr. F.A. Narain Clerk of the National Assembly Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry Absent The Honourable P.S. d'Aguiar, Minister of Finance - on leave

The Honourable Mrs. W. Gaskin, Minister of Education The Honourable M.F. Singh, Minister of Works and Hydraulics The Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of Information Mr. W.G. Carrington - on leave Mr. A. Chase Dr. Charles Jacob, Jr. Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye Mr. J.R.S. Luck Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P. Mr. M.N. Poonai Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. M. Bhagwan - on leave

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

His Honour the Deputy Speaker announced that leave had been granted Mr. Bhagwan for that day's sitting,

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Second Reading

Item 2 - OMBUDSMAN BILL, 1967 - Bill No. 14/1967 published 29.7.67

The Prime Minister moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO MAKE PROVISION FOR MATTERS SUPPLEMENTARY AND ANCILLARY TO THOSE PROVIDED FOR BY PART 2 OF CHAPTER V OF THE CONSTITUTION OF GUYANA.

Mr. Hubbard and Mr. Ram Karran spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for tea.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.38 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Attorney-General and Minister of State, Mr. Khan and Mr. D. Jagan spoke to the motion.

The Prime Minister then replied.

Thereafter, the motion was put and carried.

The Bill was then read a second time.

ADJOURNMENT

at 6.30 p.m.; on a motion by the Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, the 30th of August, 1967.

DEPUTY SPEAKER.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, Georgetown.

30th August, 1967.