SECOND SESSION

1967

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 25th Sitting of the National Assembly of Guyana under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

MONDAY, 27TH NOVEMBER, 1967

PRESENT:

His Honour the Deputy Speaker, Mr. R.C. Tello - In the Chair

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

Dr. the Honcurable P.A. Reid, Minister of Finance

The Honourable N.J. Bissember, Minister for Parliamentary Affairs

The Honourable R.E. Cheeks, Minister of Local Government

The Honourable E.F. Correia, Minister of Communications

The Honourable L. John, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable W.O.R. Kendall, C.B.E., J.P., Minister of Health and Housing

The Honourable C.A. Merriman, J.P.,
Minister of Labour and Social Security
The Honourable M.F. Singh, Minister of Works

and Hydraulics

The Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of Information

(ii) Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr. D.B. deGroot, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Mr. O.E. Clarke, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary, Winistry of Local Government

J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics

Mr. C.V. Too-Chung, Parliamentary Secretary,

Ministry of Finance

(iii) Other Members

Mr. W.A. Blair

Mr. J. Budhoo
Mr. W.G. Carrington
Mr. R.G. Field-Ridley
Mr. D. Mahraj
Mr. H. Prashad, J.P.

Rev. A.B. Trotman

Mr. H.M.S. Wharton, J.P.

(b) Members of the Opposition

Mr. A. Chase Mr. B.H. Benn

Mr. R. Chandisingh
Mr. H.J.M. Hubbard
Dr. Charles Jacob, Jr.
Mr. E.M.G. Wilson
Mr. J.R.S. Luck
Mr. H. Lall

Mr. M. Khan, J.P.

Mr. Y. Ally Mr. L. Linde

Clerk of the National Assembly Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. F.A. Narain Mr. M.B. Henry

Absent

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C.,

Prime Minister

The Honourable Mrs. W. Gaskin, Minister of

Education

- on leave

The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources
The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, C.M.G., Q.C., Attorney-General and Minister of State

The Honourable H.C. Spence, Minister of Trade

Mr. G. Bowman, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural

Resources Mr. P.S. d'Aguiar

- on leave Mr. M. Kasim. - on leave

Mr. T.A. Sancho
Mr. J.H. Thomas
Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition
Mr. Ram Karran - on leave - on leave

Mr. C.V. Nunes Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye

Mr. M. Hamid, J.P.,

Mr. D.C. Jagan

Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P.

Mr. M.N. Poonai

Dr. S.A. Ramjohn Mr. E.M. Stoby Mr. M. Bhagwan

Mr. S.M. Saffee

- on leave

- on leave

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

His Honour the Deputy Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. P.S. d'Aguiar for the period 24th November to 16th December, 1967.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Minister of Finance

Financial Faper No. 5/1967 - Schedule of Additional Provision on the Capital and Current Estimates for the period ending November, 1967, totalling \$4,894,051.

In terms of Standing Order No. 69, the Minister of Finance named Wednesday, 29th November, 1967, as the day for consideration of the Financial Paper.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.35 p.m. on a motion by the Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 29th November, 1967.

DEPUTY SPEAKER