#### SECOND LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

#### THIRD SESSION

1959 - 1960

MINUTES of the Proceedings of a Meeting of the Legislative Council of the Colony of British Guiana under the British Guiana (Constitution) (Temporary Provisions) Orders in Council, 1953 and 1956, held in the Chamber of the Legislature at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

on

THURSDAY, 11TH FEBRUARY, 1960.

### PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Sir Donald Jackson.

## Ex-Officio Members

The Honourable the Chief Secretary, Mr. D.M. Hedges. The Honourable the Attorney-General, Mr. A.M.I. Austin, Q.C.

The Honourable the Financial Secretary, Mr. F.W. Essex, C.M.G.

## Ministers

The Honourable Dr. C.B. Jagan,

Minister of Trade and Industry.

The Honourable B.H. Benn,

Minister of Natural Resources.

The Honourable Janet Jagan,

Minister of Labour, Health and Housing.

The Honourable Ram Karran,

Minister of Communications and Works.

#### Elected Members, Majority Party

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. Ajodha Singh

# Other Elected Members

Mr. W.O.R. Kendall

Mr. L.F.S. Burnham

Mr. S. Campbell

Mr. A.L. Jackson

Mr. E.B. Beharry

Mr. F. Bowman

#### Nominated Members

Mr. R.B. Gajraj

Mr. R.C. Tello

Mr. R.E. Davis

Mr. A.M. Fredericks

Mr. H.J.M. Hubbard

Mr. A.G. Tasker, O.B.E.

Clerk of the Legislature - Mr. I. Crum Ewing. Assistant Clerk of the Legislature - Mr. E.V. Viapree.

## Absent:

The Honourable B.S. Rai, Minister of Community Development and Education - on leave. Mr. Jai Narine Singh.