LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

MINUTES of the first meeting of the Committee of Selection held in the Chamber of the Legislature at 3.00 p.m. on Monday, 16th October, 1961.

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj - Chairman. Hon. B.H. Benn, Minister of Natural Resources. Hon. B.S. Rai, Minister of Home Affairs. Mr. R.E. Cheeks, Member for Georgetown North. Mr. A.I. Crum Ewing, Clerk of the Legislature.

The Committee considered appointments to the Public Accounts, Committee, Standing Orders Committee, Assembly Committee and Committee of Privileges, and after discussion unanimously agreed to nominate the undermentioned to comprise those Committees:

Public Accounts Committee (Standing Order 71(2)):

Mr. G. Bowman
Mr. S.M. Saffee
Mr. M. Bhagwan
Mr. M. Hamid
Mr. R.S.S. Hugh
Mr. J.G. Joaquim
Mr. P. d'Aguiar.

Standing Orders Committee (Standing Order 71(3)):

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj
Dr. the Hon. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, Attorney General
Mr. L.E.M. Mann
Mr. D.C. Jagan
Mr. L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C.
Mr. C.A. Merriman
Mr. E.E. Melville

Assembly Committee (Standing Order 71(4)):

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj
Hon. Ram Karran, Minister of Works and Hydraulics.
Mr. M. Hamid
Mr. H. Lall
Mr. E.F. Correia
Mr. H.M.S. Wharton
Mr. S. Campbell

Committee of Privileges (Standing Order 71(5)):

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj
Hon. B.S. Rai, Minister of Home Affairs
Dr. the Hon. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, Attorney General.
Mr. L.E.M. Mann
Mr. W.O.R. Kendall
Mr. J. Carter
Mr. R.E. Cheeks

There being no further business the meeting terminated at $4.00~\mathrm{p.m.}$

Confirmed.

RAHMAN B. GAJRAJ. Chairman.

18th October, 1961.