NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2020-2021) OF THE TWELFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 3RD MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION HELD ON WEDNESDAY, 27TH JANUARY, 2021 AT 1.05 P.M. IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, STABROEK GEORGETOWN

VIRTUAL MEETING

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (10)

CHAIRPERSON (1)

Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members

From the People's Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) (5)

Hon. Brigadier (Ret'd) Mark A. Phillips, M.S.S., M.P., Prime Minister

Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P.,

Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Governance and Government Chief Whip

Hon. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P.,

Minister of Agriculture

Hon. Pauline R. A. Campbell-Sukhai, M.P.,

Minister of Amerindian Affairs

Hon. Nigel D. Dharamlall, M.P.,

Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

From A Partnership For National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) (4)

Mr. Raphael G. C. Trotman, M.P. - Excused

Ms. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P.

Ms. Amanza O. R. Walton-Desir, M.P. - Absent

Mr. Sherod A. Duncan, M.P.

Officers

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs - Clerk of the National Assembly

Ms. Deslyn West - Assistant Clerk of the National Assembly

Ms. Sonia Maxwell - Head of Committees Division

Ms. Letta Barker - Clerk of Committees
Ms. Sueanna Reynolds - Clerk of Committees

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The meeting was called to order at 1.05 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened for the purpose of effecting changes to the following Committees:

- Committee of Selection; and
- Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Foreign Relations.

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

From A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC)

On a proposal by Ms. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P., and seconded by Mr. Sherod Duncan, M.P., Mr. Christopher Jones, M.P. (Opposition Chief Whip), was nominated to replace Ms. Amanza O. R. Walton-Desir, M.P.

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE PARLIAMENTARY SECTORAL COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN RELATIONS

From A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC)

On a proposal by Ms. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P., and seconded by Mr. Sherod Duncan, M.P., Ms. Amanza O. R. Walton-Desir, M.P., was nominated to replace Mr. Ronald Cox, M.P. (Alternate). Mr. Devon Sears, M.P., will become the Alternate Member.

The Hon. Gail Teixeira thereafter, proposed changes to the following Committees:

- Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Natural Resources;
- Standing Orders Committee; and
- Business Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply.

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE PARLIAMENTARY SECTORAL COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES

From the People's Progressive Party Civic (PPPC)

On a proposal by the Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., the Hon. Brindley H.R. Benn, M.P., was nominated as the Alternate Member of the Committee and Mr. Lee G.H. Williams, M.P., as the Substantive Member of the Committee.

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

From the People's Progressive Party Civic (PPPC)

On a proposal by the Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P. (Government Chief Whip), the Hon. Joseph Hamilton, M.P., was nominated to replace the Hon. Oneidge Walrond, M.P.

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE BUSINESS SUB-COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY

From the People's Progressive Party Civic (PPPC)

On a proposal by the Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P. (Government Chief Whip), the Hon. Brigadier (Ret'd) Mark Anthony Phillips, M.S.S., M.P., Prime Minister, was nominated to replace the Hon. Brindley H.R. Benn, M.P.

ANY OTHER BUSINESS

REPRESENTATION ON COMMITTEES

The Hon. Gail Teixeira raised the issue regarding the non-representation of the Liberty and Justice Party (JLP) on Committees. She reaffirmed that the Party holds a seat in the National Assembly, and the representative had not been nominated to sit on any Committee. She urged Members of the Main Opposition to consider the issue.

At the conclusion of the discussion that ensued, the Chairperson encouraged Members to consider the proposal by the Hon. Gail Teixeira.

Termination of Meeting

The meeting was terminated at 1.36 p.m.

Confirmed this 4th day of February, 2021

Mangoor Nadir

Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.,

Speaker of the National Assembly Chairman of the Committee of Selection