### **NATIONAL ASSEMBLY**

### **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

# OF THE 39<sup>TH</sup> SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2020-2022) OF THE TWELFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 10.00 A.M.

### ON WEDNESDAY, 2<sup>ND</sup> FEBRUARY, 2022

# IN THE DOME OF THE ARTHUR CHUNG CONFERENCE CENTRE, LILIENDAAL, GREATER GEORGETOWN

### MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (71)

### Speaker (1)

\*Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

### **MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT (38)**

### **Peoples Progressive Party Civic (38)**

### Prime Minister (1)

Hon. Brigadier (Ret'd) Mark A. Phillips, M.S.S., M.P., Prime Minister

### Vice-President (1)

Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Vice-President (Absent-on leave)

### **Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (1)**

Hon. Mohabir A. Nandlall, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

### **Senior Ministers (17)**

Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P. (Region No. 7 — Cuyuni/Mazaruni), Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Governance and Government Chief Whip

Hon. Hugh H. Todd, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica), Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Co-operation

\*Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P., Senior Minister in the Office of the President with Responsibility for Finance

Hon. Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S., J.P., M.P., Minister of Public Works

Hon. Dr. Frank C. S. Anthony, M.P., Minister of Health

Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara), Minister of Education

\*Hon. Brindley H.R. Benn, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

Hon. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Agriculture

Hon. Pauline R.A. Campbell-Sukhai, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

Hon. Joseph L.F. Hamilton, M.P., Minister of Labour

Hon. Vickram O. Bharrat, M.P., Minister of Natural Resources

\*Hon. Oneidge Walrond, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce

Hon. Nigel D. Dharamlall, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supenaam), Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

Hon. Collin D. Croal, M.P. (Region No. 1 – BarimaWaini), Minister of Housing and Water

Hon. Vindhya V. H. Persaud, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica), Minister of Human Services and Social Security

Hon. Charles S. Ramson, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

Hon. Sonia S. Parag, M.P., Minister of the Public Service

#### **Junior Ministers (4)**

Hon. Susan M. Rodrigues, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica), Minister within the Ministry of Housing and Water

Hon. Deodat Indar, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Public Works

Hon. Anand Persaud, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

Hon. Warren K.E. McCoy, M.P., Minister within the Office of the Prime Minister

### Other Members (14)

Hon. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.

Hon. Alister S. Charlie, M.P. (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

Hon. Dr. Vishwa D.B. Mahadeo, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

Hon. Sanjeev J. Datadin, M.P.

Hon. Seepaul Narine, M.P.

Hon. Yvonne Pearson-Fredericks, M.P.

Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.P.

Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P.

Hon. Faizal M. Jaffarally, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)

Hon. Dr. Tandika S. Smith, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Hon. Lee G.H. Williams, M.P.

\*Hon. Sarah Browne, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs (Absent – on leave)

\*Hon. Vikash Ramkissoon, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent-on leave)

Hon. Bhagmattie Veerasammy, M.P.

### **MEMBERS OF THE OPPOSITION (32)**

### (i) A Partnership For National Unity + Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) (31)

Hon. Lt. Col. (Ret'd) Joseph F. Harmon, M.S.M., M.P. (Absent)

Hon. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Hon. Roysdale A. Forde, S.C., M.P.

Hon. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P. (Absent)

Hon. Dawn Hastings-Williams, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Hon. Dr. Nicolette O. Henry, M.P.

Hon. Dr. Karen R.V. Cummings, M.P.

Hon. Tabitha J. Sarabo-Halley, M.P.

Hon. Geeta Chandan-Edmond, M.P.

Hon. Christopher A. Jones, M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Hon. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P. (Virtual-Participation)

Hon. David A. Patterson, M.P. (Virtual-Participation)

Hon. Coretta A. McDonald, A.A., M.P.

Hon. Catherine A. Hughes, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica) (Virtual-Participation)

Hon. Haimraj B. Rajkumar, M.P.

Hon. Amanza O.R. Walton-Desir, M.P.

Hon. Natasha Singh-Lewis, M.P.

Hon. Sherod A. Duncan, M.P.

Hon. Juretha V. Fernandes, M.P.

Hon. Vincent P. Henry, M.P.

Hon. Ronald Cox, M.P. (Region No. 1 – BarimaWaini) (Virtual-Participation)

Hon. Shurwayne F.K. Holder, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Hon. Ganesh A. Mahipaul, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Hon. Nima N. Flue-Bess, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Hon. Maureen A. Philadelphia, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Hon. Deonarine Ramsaroop, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Hon. Vinceroy H. Jordan, M.P., (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)

Hon. Dineshwar N. Jaiprashad, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

Hon. Richard E. Sinclair, M.P. (Region No. 8 – Potaro/Siparuni)

Hon. Jermaine A. Figueira, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Hon. Devin L. Sears, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

# A New and United Guyana, Liberty and Justice Party and The New Movement (ANUG, LJP & TNM) (1)

Hon. Lenox R. O'Dell Shuman, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

### Officers (2)

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly

Ms. Hermina Gilgeours, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

### **COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING**

The Sitting commenced at 10.20 p.m.

### **PRAYERS**

The Clerk led in Prayers.

### **ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER-**

The Speaker made the following announcement:

### 1. HECKLING AND SHOUTING DURING DEBATES

The Speaker cautioned Members about heckling and shouting in the Dome during the Debates.

### **PUBLIC BUSINESS**

### **GOVERNMENT BUSINESS**

### **MOTION**

### BUDGET SPEECH 2022 - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2022

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2022.

# (Moved by the Senior Minister in the Office of the President with Responsibly for Finance on 2022-01-26)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Hon. Vinceroy Jordan, M.P.

Hon. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.,

Hon. Juretha Fernandes, M.P.

Hon. Deodat Indar, M.P., Minster within the Ministry of Public Works

### **SUSPENSION OF SITTING**

At 12.20 p.m. the Sitting was suspended for refreshments.

### **RESUMPTION OF SITTING**

At 1.37 p.m. the Sitting was resumed.

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2022.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Hon. Corretta McDonald, M.P.

Hon. Lee Williams, M.P.

Hon. Maureen Philadelphia, M.P.

Hon. Bhagmattie Veerasammy, M.P.

Hon. Dr. Nicolette Henry, M.P.

Hon. Priya Manickchand, M.P., Minister of Education

Hon. Richard Sinclair, M.P.

Hon. Dr. Tandika Smith, M.P.

Hon. Dineshwar Jaiprashad, M.P.

Hon. Dr. Vishwa Mahadeo, M.P.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

At 5.41 p.m., on a motion by the Prime Minister, the Assembly was adjourned to 10.00 a.m. on Thursday, 3<sup>rd</sup> February, 2022.

Mangoor Nadir

HON. MANZOOR NADIR, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Brickdam, Georgetown.

2<sup>nd</sup> February, 2022.