NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2020) OF THE TWELFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 2ND MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION HELD ON MONDAY, 28TH DECEMBER, 2020 AT 4.20 P.M. IN THE DOME OF THE ARTHUR CHUNG CONFERENCE CENTRE, LILIENDAAL, GREATER GEORGETOWN

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (10)

CHAIRPERSON (1)

Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly (Virtual Participation)

Other Members

From the People's Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) (5)

Hon. Brigadier (Ret'd) Mark A. Phillips, M.S.S., M.P., Prime Minister

Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Governance and Government Chief Whip

Hon. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P., Minister of Agriculture

Hon. Pauline R. A. Campbell-Sukhai, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

Hon. Nigel D. Dharamlall, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

From A Partnership For National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) (4)

Mr. Raphael G. C. Trotman, M.P. (Virtual Participation)

Ms. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P.

Ms. Amanza O. R. Walton-Desir, M.P.

Mr. Sherod A. Duncan, M.P.

Officers

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs	-	Clerk of the National Assembly
Ms. Hermina Gilgeours	-	Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly
Ms. Sonia Maxwell	-	Head of Committees Division
Ms. Letta Barker	-	Clerk of Committees
Ms. Sueanna Reynolds	-	Clerk of Committees

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The meeting was called to order at 4.20 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened for the purpose of recommending changes in the composition of Committees.

Hon. Minister Teixeira sought the guidance of the Committee in relation to Technocrat Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries being appointed Members of Parliamentary Committees. She stated that the while the tradition had been that Technocrat Ministers would sit on Committees and participate in discussions they were not allowed to vote. This was in keeping with Standing Order 80 (5).

The Hon. Minister indicated that non-elected Members were appointed Members of Standing Committees and she was, therefore, requesting that, in instances where a Technocrat Minister had already been appointed to a Committee, the Government be allowed to have an additional Member appointed with voting rights on the Committee. She stated that there were two Parliamentary Secretaries and one Technocratic Minister who were awaiting placement on Committees.

The Chairperson then sought Members' views on the matter. A discussion ensued, and the Clerk of the National Assembly advised the Committee that such a decision was for the Committee to make. He informed Members that there had been precedent of non-elected Ministers being appointed to Committees and that he did not foresee an issue with non-elected Members being appointed Members of Committees. He, however, reiterated that those Members would be unable to vote.

At the conclusion of the discussion, the Committee agreed that where a Technocrat Minister or a Parliamentary Secretary was appointed to a Committee, an additional Member with voting rights would be appointed to the Committee. The Committee further agreed that the two Parliamentary Secretaries and the newly appointed Technocrat Minister would be appointed to Committees shortly.

Termination of Meeting

The meeting was terminated at 4.29 p.m.

Confirmed this 27th day of January, 2021

Mangoor Nadi

Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Chairman of the Committee of Selection