# NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# OF THE 44<sup>TH</sup> SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2008) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

#### AT 2.00 P.M.

# ON MONDAY, 3RD MARCH, 2008

# IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM

# **MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (71)**

# Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

# **MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT (42)**

- (i) People's Progressive Party/Civic (41)
- (ii) The United Force (1)

The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P., (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice), Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. Shaik K.Z Baksh, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation (Absent)

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) Minister of Health

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M.P., (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo), Minister of Amerindian Affairs

\*The Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P., Minister of Finance

\*The Hon S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent)

The Hon. Harry Narine Nawbatt, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

The Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P., (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Agriculture (Absent – on leave)

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni), Minister of Public Service

The Hon. Kellawan Lall, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

\*The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. B. H. Robeson Benn, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

\*\*The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Labour

The Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P., (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)
Minister of Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Dr. Desrey Fox, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Education (Absent)

The Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Health

The Hon. Jennifer I. Webster, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

The Hon. Manniram Prashad, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Mr. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

Ms Bibi S. Shadick, M.P., (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Mr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali, M.P.

Mr. Albert A. Atkinson, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 8 – Potaro/Siparuni)

\*Non-Elected Minister

<sup>\*\*</sup>Elected Member from the United Force

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Mohamed F. Khan, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P.

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

\*\*\*Mr. Steve P. Ninvalle, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport (Absent – on leave)

Mr. Parmanand P. Persaud, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Housing and Water

\*\*\*Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism, Industry and Commerce (Absent)

Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.

Mr. Norman A. Whittaker, M.P., (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)

### Members of the Opposition (28)

# (i) Members of People's National Congress Reform-One Guyana (22)

Mr. Robert Corbin, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Winston Murray, C.C.H., M.P.

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. Anthony Vieira, M.P. (Absent – on leave)

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P.

Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Keith Scott, M.P.

Ms Amna Ally, M.P.

Mr. Dave Danny, M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Aubrey C. Norton, M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Ernest Barnabas Elliot, M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Judith David-Blair, M.P., (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Mervyn Williams, M.P., (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Ms Africo Selman, M.P.

Dr. John Austin, M.P., (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Ms Jennifer Wade, M.P., (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)

Ms. Vanessa Kissoon, M.P., (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Mr. Desmond Fernandes, M.P., (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Mr. James K. Mc Allister, M.P. (Absent – on leave)

# (ii) Alliance for Change (5)

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mrs. Sheila Holder, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Ms Latchmin Budhan Punalall, M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. David Patterson, M.P.

# (iii) Guyana Action Party/Rise Organize and Rebuild (1)

Mr. Everall N. Franklin, M.P.

# OFFICERS (2)

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mrs. Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

# **COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING**

The sitting commenced at 2.02 p.m.

# **PRAYERS**

The Clerk read Prayers.

# PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS-

By the Minister of Finance:

The Value-Added Tax Order 2008 - No. 11 of 2008.

(Circulated)

# **INTRODUCTION OF BILLS-**

### **Presentation and First Reading**

# EXCISE TAX (AMENDMENT) BILL 2008 - Bill No. 3/2008

The Minister of Finance, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL initituled AN ACT to amend the Excise Tax Act 2005.

### **PUBLIC BUSINESS-**

# (i) GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

# **MOTION**

# BUDGET SPEECH 2008 – MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2008

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2008.

(Moved by the Minister of Finance on 2008-02-22)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mrs. Deborah Backer

The Minister of Housing and Water

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl

The Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

# SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.00 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

# **RESUMPTION OF SITTING**

At 6.05 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan

The Minister of Human Services and Social Security

Ms Amna Ally

# SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 8.21 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

# RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.50 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Minister in the Ministry of Health

Ms Africo Selman

Ms Bibi Shadick

Ms Vanessa Kissoon

Mr. Needkumar

Mr. Anil Nandlall

Mr. Parmanand Persaud

Mr. Albert A. Atkinson

# **ADJOURNMENT**

At 12.17 p.m., on a motion by the Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications, the Assembly as adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Tuesday, 4<sup>th</sup> March, 2008.

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P.,

Alw on Ocasian

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,

Public Buildings,

Brickdam,

Georgetown.

3<sup>rd</sup> March, 2008.