<u>NATIONAL ASSEMBLY</u> <u>MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS</u> <u>OF THE 46TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION</u> (2006-2008) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

<u>AT 2.00 P.M.</u>

ON WEDNESDAY, 5TH MARCH, 2008

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (71)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT (42)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party/Civic (41)</u>

(ii) <u>The United Force (1)</u>

The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P., (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice), Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. Shaik K.Z Baksh, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation (Absent – on leave)

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) Minister of Health

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M.P., (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo), Minister of Amerindian Affairs

*The Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent - on leave)

*The Hon S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent - on leave)

The Hon. Harry Narine Nawbatt, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

4

1...2

*Non-elected Minister

The Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P., (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Agriculture (Absent – on leave)

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni), Minister of Public Service

The Hon. Kellawan Lall, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

*The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon, B. H. Robeson Benn, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

**The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Labour

The Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P., (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice) Minister of Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Dr. Desrey Fox, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Education

The Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Health

The Hon. Jennifer I. Webster, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

The Hon. Manniram Prashad, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Mr. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

Ms Bibi S. Shadick, M.P., (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Mr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali, M.P.

Mr. Albert A. Atkinson, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

*Non-Elected Minister **Elected Member from the United Force

3. Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Island/West Demerara) Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) Mr. Mohamed F. Khan, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supernaam) Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P. Mr. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P. Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) ***Mr. Steve P. Ninvalle, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport (Absent - on leave) Mr. Parmanand P. Persaud, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supernaam) Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Housing and Water ***Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism, Industry and Commerce Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P. Mr. Norman A. Whittaker, M.P., (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) Members of the Opposition (28) Members of People's National Congress Reform-One Guyana (22) (i) Mr. Robert Corbin, M.P., Leader of the Opposition Mr. Winston Murray, C.C.H., M.P. Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. Anthony Vieira, M.P.

***Non-elected Member

/...4

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P.

Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.

Mr. Keith Scott, M.P.

Ms Amna Ally, M.P.

Mr. Dave Danny, M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Aubrey C. Norton, M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Ernest Barnabas Elliot, M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Judith David-Blair, M.P., (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Mervyn Williams, M.P., (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Ms Africo Selman, M.P.

Dr. John Austin, M.P., (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Ms Jennifer Wade, M.P., (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Ms. Vanessa Kissoon, M.P., (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Mr. Desmond Fernandes, M.P., (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Mr. James K. Mc Allister, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

(ii) Alliance for Change (5)

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mrs. Sheila Holder, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Ms Latchmin Budhan Punalall, M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. David Patterson, M.P.

Mr. Everall N. Franklin, M.P.

OFFICERS (2)

(iiii)

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mrs. Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

4

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The sitting commenced at 2.20 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

PUBLIC BUSINESS-

(i) <u>GOVERNMENT BUSINESS</u>

MOTION

BUDGET SPEECH 2008 – MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2008

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2008.

(Moved by the Minister of Finance on 2008-02-22)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. E. Lance Carberry

The Minister of Amerindian Affairs

The Minister of Health

Mr. Raphael Trotman

5.

6.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.10 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 6.15 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Ms Gail Teixeira

Mr. Donald Ramotar

While Mr. Robert Corbin was speaking to the motion the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 8.30 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.50 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

Mr. Robert Corbin continued and concluded his speech.

The Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications also spoke to the motion.

Following the conclusion of the general debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2008, Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to consider and dispose of the Report of the Business Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply.

1...7

4

The Speaker reported that the Business Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply met on 5th March, 2008, considered the allocation of time for the consideration of the 2008 Estimates of Expenditure in the Committee of Supply, and passed a Resolution on the matter.

Copies of the Sub-Committee's Minutes, Resolution and Time Table had been circulated to Members at the sitting on 5th March, 2008.

On a motion by the Prime Minister, the Committee of Supply agreed with the Business Sub-Committee in its Resolution.

The Speaker stated that in accordance with the Resolution, the Committee of Supply would commence consideration of the 2008 Estimates of Expenditure on Thursday, 6th March, 2008.

Assembly resumed

ADJOURNMENT

At 12.18 a.m., on a motion by the Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 6th March, 2008.

Alla Cownan

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Brickdam, Georgetown.

5th March, 2008.