NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 140th SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2010) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON MONDAY, 17TH JANUARY, 2011

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (70)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT (41)

People's Progressive Party/Civic (40)

The United Force (1)

The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice), Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Health

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M.P. (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo), Minister of Foreign Affairs

*The Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P., Minister of Finance

The Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Agriculture

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni), Minister of Public Service

The Hon. Kellawan Lall, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

*The Hon. Charles R. Ramson, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. B. H. Robeson Benn, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

**The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Labour

The Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice), Minister of Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Health

The Hon. Jennifer I. Webster, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

The Hon. Manniram Prashad, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce

*The Hon. Pauline Sukhai, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

The Hon. Mohamed Irfaan Ali, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P.

Ms Bibi S. Shadick, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Mr. Albert A. Atkinson, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 8 – Potaro/Siparuni)

/...3

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Mohamed F. Khan, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

***Mr. Steve P. Ninvalle, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport

Mr. Parmanand P. Persaud, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Housing and Water

Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.

Mr. Norman A. Whittaker, M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)

Dr. Vishwa Deva Budhram Mahadeo, M.P.

Rev. Dr. Kwame Gilbert, M.P.

Mr. Lloyd J. Pereira, J.P., M.P.

Members of the Opposition (28)

(i) Members of People's National Congress Reform-One Guyana (22)

Mr. Robert Corbin, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

/...4

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip (Absent – on leave)

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P.

Dr. George A. Norton, M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.

Mr. Keith Scott, M.P.

Ms Amna Ally, M.P.

Ms Cheryl Sampson, M.P.

Mr. Dave Danny, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Aubrey C. Norton, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Ernest Barnabas Elliot, M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Judith David-Blair, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Mervyn Williams, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Ms Africo Selman, M.P. (Absent – on leave)

Dr. John Austin, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

Ms Jennifer Wade, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)

Ms Joan Baveghems, M.P.

Ms. Vanessa Kissoon, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Mr. Desmond Fernandes, M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)

Ms Dawn Hastings, M.P.

(ii) Alliance for Change (5)

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mrs. Sheila Holder, M.P.

Mrs. Latchmin Punalall, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. David Patterson, M.P.

Guyana Action Party/Rise Organize and Rebuild (1)

Mr. Everall N. Franklin, M.P.

OFFICERS (2)

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

Ms Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The sitting commenced at 2.12 p.m.

OATH OF A NEW MEMBER

Election of Ms Joan Baveghems

The Speaker informed the Assembly that following the death of Mr. Winston Shripal Murray, and his subsequent call upon the representative of the People's National Congress Reform/One Guyana of candidates, he was informed that the name of Ms Joan Baveghems had been extracted from the list and that Ms Joan Baveghems was on 17th January, 2011 declared to be an elected Member of the National Assembly.

The Speaker stated that before Ms Joan Baveghems could take part in the proceedings of that sitting of the National Assembly, she would have, as required by Article 167 of the Constitution, to make and subscribe the oath of office.

As Ms Baveghems was present, the oath was administered to her by the Clerk.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Congratulations to Ms Joan Baveghems

The Speaker, on behalf of Members of the Assembly and himself, congratulated Ms Joan Baveghems on her becoming a Member of the National Assembly.

He welcomed her to the Assembly and also extended best wishes to her.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS-

By the Minister of Finance:

Estimates of the Revenues and Expenditure of Guyana for the financial year 2011.

(Circulated)

MOTIONS RELATING TO THE BUSINESS OR SITTINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY AND MOVED BY A MINISTER-

SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDERS NOS. 10(2) AND 38(9)(a)

The Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That Standing Orders Nos. 10(2) and 38(9)(a) be suspended to enable the Minister of Finance to complete uninterrupted the reading of the Budget Speech for 2011 at the sitting of the National Assembly on Monday, 17th January, 2011.

(Notice Paper No. 509 (M165 Govt 101) published on 2011-01-11)

PUBLIC BUSINESS -

(i) GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

MOTION

BUDGET FOR 2011

In accordance with Article 171(2) of the Constitution, the Minister of Finance signified that Cabinet had recommended that the National Assembly should proceed upon the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2011.

The Minister then moved the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2011 of the total sum of \$146,879,654,000 excluding \$14,550,502,000 which is chargeable by law. (See Appendix)

The Minister of Finance read the Budget Speech.

The motion was then proposed.

The Prime Minister informed the Assembly that the debate on the Budget would commence on Monday, 24th January, 2011.

ADJOURNMENT

At 5.26 p.m., the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Monday, 24th January, 2011.

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P.,

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,
Public Buildings,
Brickdam,
Georgetown.

17th January, 2011.