NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 144TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2011) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON THURSDAY, 27TH JANUARY, 2011

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (70)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT (41)

People's Progressive Party/Civic (40)

The United Force (1)

The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice), Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Health

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M.P. (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo), Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent – on leave)

*The Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P., Minister of Finance

The Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Agriculture

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni), Minister of Public Service

The Hon. Kellawan Lall, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

*The Hon. Charles R. Ramson, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. B. H. Robeson Benn, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

**The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Labour

The Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice), Minister of Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Health

The Hon. Jennifer I. Webster, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

The Hon. Manniram Prashad, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce

*The Hon. Pauline Sukhai, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs (Absent – on leave)

The Hon. Mohamed Irfaan Ali, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P.

Ms Bibi S. Shadick, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Mr. Albert A. Atkinson, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 8 – Potaro/Siparuni)

/...3

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent – on leave)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Mohamed F. Khan, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P. (Absent – on leave)

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

***Mr. Steve P. Ninvalle, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport

Mr. Parmanand P. Persaud, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Housing and Water

Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.

Mr. Norman A. Whittaker, M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)

Dr. Vishwa Deva Budhram Mahadeo, M.P.

Rev. Dr. Kwame Gilbert, M.P.

Mr. Lloyd J. Pereira, J.P., M.P.

Members of the Opposition (28)

(i) <u>Members of People's National Congress Reform-One Guyana (22)</u>

Mr. Robert Corbin, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip (Absent – on leave)

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P.

Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.

Mr. Keith Scott, M.P.

Ms Amna Ally, M.P.

Ms Cheryl Sampson, M.P.

Mr. Dave Danny, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Aubrey C. Norton, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Ernest Barnabas Elliot, M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Judith David-Blair, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Mervyn Williams, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Ms Africo Selman, M.P.

Dr. John Austin, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

Ms Jennifer Wade, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)

Ms Joan Baveghems, M.P.

Ms. Vanessa Kissoon, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Mr. Desmond Fernandes, M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)

Ms Dawn Hastings, M.P.

(ii) Alliance for Change (5)

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Sheila Holder, M.P.

Mrs. Latchmin Punalall, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. David Patterson, M.P.

Guyana Action Party/Rise Organize and Rebuild (1)

Mr. Everall N. Franklin, M.P.

OFFICERS (2)

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

Ms Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The sitting commenced at 2.08 p.m.

PUBLIC BUSINESS -

(i) **GOVERNMENT BUSINESS**

MOTION

BUDGET SPEECH 2011 – MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2011

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2011.

(Moved by the Minister of Finance on 2011-01-17)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Aubrey Norton

The Minister of Housing and Water

Mr. Ernest Elliot

Presiding of Mrs. Clarissa Riehl., M.P.

At 4.03 p.m., the Speaker withdrew from the Chamber and Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker took the Chair.

Speaker's Return to the Chamber

At 4.10 p.m., the Speaker returned to the Chamber.

The Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport also spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.17 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 6.07 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mr. David Patterson

The Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

Ms Africo Selman

Presiding by Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.

At 8.28 p.m., the Speaker withdrew from the Chamber and Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker took the Chair.

The Minister of Local Government and Regional Development also spoke to the motion.

Speaker's Return to the Chamber

At 8.56 p.m., the Speaker returned to the Chamber.

Mr. Komal Chand also spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDER NO. 10(1)

At 10.03 p.m., on a motion by the Prime Minister, Standing Order No. 10(1) was suspended to enable the Assembly to continue with its budget debate uninterrupted.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mr. Harripersaud Nokta

Mrs. Shirley Edwards

Mr. Mohamed Khan

Mr. Lloyd Perreira

ADJOURNMENT

At 11.30 p.m., on a motion by the Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, 28th January, 2011.

•••••

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P.,

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,

Public Buildings,

Brickdam,

Georgetown.

27th January, 2011.