NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 4TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2001) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON THURSDAY, 7TH JUNE, 2001

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (67)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (35)

- The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications
- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation (Absent)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development
- The Hon, Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport
- The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education (Absent on leave)
- The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P., Minister of Finance
- The Hon. Skaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water
- The Hon. Navindranauth O. Chandarpal, M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent) (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Region No. 3 -Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

1...2

The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Fisheries, Other Crops and Livestock (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

*The Hon. S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Foreign Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., Minister of the Public Service

The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics (Absent)

The Hon. Bibi S. Shadick, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Cyril C.L. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Mr. Husman Alli, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Heeralall Mohan, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mr. Ramesh C. Rajkumar, M.P.(Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Mr. Kumkaran Ramdas, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P.

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Members of the Opposition (31)

(i) People's National Congress/Reform (27)

Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.

Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent - on leave)

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.

Mr. C. Stanley Ming, M.P.

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

Mr. Vincent Alexander, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Andy Goveia, M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.

Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P.

Miss Amna Ally, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Miss Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Mr. Jerome Khan, M.P.

Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.

Miss Myrna E.N. Peterkin, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. James K. McAllister, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) (Absent)

Miss Lurlene A. Nestor, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Abdul Kadir, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent)

Mr. Ricky Khan, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) (Absent - on leave)

Mrs. Rajcoomarie Bancroft, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

Mr. Nasir Ally, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Miss Judith David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Miss Genevieve Allen, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

(ii) Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (2)

Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.

Mrs. Shirley J. Melville, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

(iii) Rise, Organise and Rebuild Party (1)

Mr. Ravindra Dev, M.P.

(iv) The United Force (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P. (Absent)

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, C.C.H., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.04 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave from that day's Sitting had been granted to the following Members: The Hon. Dr. Henry Jeffrey Mr. Ivor Allen Mr. Ricky Khan

REQUESTS FOR LEAVE TO MOVE THE ADJOURNMENT OF THE ASSEMBLY ON DEFINITE MATTERS OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE -

Constitution (Amendment) (No. 4) Bill 2001 - Bill No. 7/2001

Mr. Robert Corbin referred to the notification which he had earlier that day submitted to the Speaker requesting leave to move the adjournment of the Assembly for the purpose of discussing a proposal contained in the Constitution (Amendment) (No. 4) Bill 2001 which was listed for second reading at that Sitting.

As he had been subsequently informed that it was intended to defer the second reading of the Bill, he withdrew his request.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILLS - Second Reading - Deferred

At the request of the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, and with the leave of the Assembly, the second reading of the following Bills at Items 1 to 4 was <u>deferred</u>:-

- (i) CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) (NO. 4) BILL 2001 Bill No. 7/2001
- (ii) CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) (NO. 5) BILL 2001 Bill No. 8/2001
- (iii) CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) (NO. 6) BILL 2001 Bill No. 9/2001
- (iv) SEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF THE CO-OPERATIVE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA (CONSTITUTION AND PROCEEDINGS) VALIDATION BILL 2001 -Bill No. 5/2001

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.09 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Thursday, 14th June, 2001.

HARI N. RAMKARRAN

Milaw Ceasan

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,

Public Buildings,

Georgetown.

7th June, 2001.