NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 9TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2001) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON WEDNESDAY, 27TH JUNE, 2001

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (68)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government (37)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)</u>

(ii) Non-elected Ministers (2)

(iii) The United Force (1)

The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications (Absent - performing the functions of the Office of President)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation (Absent)

The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P., Minister of Finance

The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

The Hon. Navindranauth O. Chandarpal, M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Region No. 3 -Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Absent)

The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

- * The Hon. S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Foreign Affairs (Absent)
- * The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., Minister of the Public Service

The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

The Hon. Bibi S. Shadick, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

** The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health (Absent)

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Cyril C.L. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Mr. Husman Alli, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Heeralall Mohan, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mr. Ramesh C. Rajkumar, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Mr. Kumkaran Ramdas, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P.

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Water

Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

* Non-elected Minister

**Elected Member from The United Force

Members of the Opposition (30)

- (i) People's National Congress/Reform (27)
- Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)
- Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.
- Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
- Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
- Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip
- Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent on leave)
- Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.
- Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.
- Mr. C. Stanley Ming, M.P.
- Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.
- Mr. Vincent L. Alexander, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Mr. Andy Goveia, M.P.
- Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.
- Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P.
- Miss Amna Ally, M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Miss Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)
- Mr. Jerome Khan, M.P.
- Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.
- Miss Myrna E.N. Peterkin, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Mr. James K. McAllister, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Miss Lurlene A. Nestor, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Mr. Abdul Kadir, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)
- Mr. Ricky Khan, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Mrs. Rajcoomarie Bancroft, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)
- Mr. Nasir Ally, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Miss Judith David, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
- Miss Genevieve Allen, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)

(ii) <u>Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (2)</u>
 Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
 Mrs. Shirley J. Melville, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

(iii) <u>Rise, Organise and Rebuild Party (1)</u>
 Mr. Ravindra Dev, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, C.C.H., Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.05 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.-

By the Speaker (Chairman of the Committee of Selection):

Minutes of the Proceedings of the 1st Meeting of the Committee of Selection held on 26th June, 2001.

(Circulated)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2001 (2001 BUDGET)

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2001.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Vincent L. Alexander
The Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development
Mr. Ravindra Dev
Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan
Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.55 p.m., the Sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.30 p.m., the Sitting was resumed.

Withdrawal of People's National Congress/Reform from the Chamber

As the Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs rose to speak, the Members of the PNC/R, with the exception of Mr. C. Stanley Ming and Mr. Jerome Khan, withdrew from the Chamber, but returned after Mr. Singh had concluded his speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mr. C. Stanley Ming The Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce Mrs. Shirley J. Melville Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai Mr. Andy Goveia

Presiding by Mr. Komal Chand

While Mr. Andy Goveia was speaking to the motion, the Speaker withdrew for a short while from the Sitting and Mr. Komal Chand presided during his temporary absence. The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Minister of Housing and Water Mrs. Rajcoomarie Bancroft Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards Miss Sandra M. Adams Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba

ADJOURNMENT

At 11.35 p.m., the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Thursday, 28th June, 2001.

ARizan leanan

HARI N. RAMKARRAN Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,

Public Buildings,

Georgetown.

27th June, 2001.