NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 16TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2001) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON THURSDAY, 16TH AUGUST, 2001

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (68)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government (37)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)</u>

(ii) Non-elected Ministers (2)

(iii) The United Force (1)

The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works

and Communications (Absent - performing the functions of the Office of President)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation

The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P., Minister of Finance

The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

The Hon. Navindranauth O. Chandarpal, M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Region No. 3 -Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

- * The Hon. S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Foreign Affairs (Absent)
- * The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (Absent)

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., Minister of the Public Service

The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

The Hon. Bibi S. Shadick, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

** The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Cyril C.L. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Husman Alli, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Heeralall Mohan, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mr. Ramesh C. Rajkumar, M.P.(Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Mr. Kumkaran Ramdas, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P.

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Water

Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

*Non-Elected Minister

**Elected Member from The United Force

1...3

Members of the Opposition (30)

- (i) People's National Congress/Reform (27)
- Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)
- Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)
- Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip (Absent)
- Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent)
- Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mr. C. Stanley Ming, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Vincent L. Alexander, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)
- Mr. Andy Goveia, M.P. (Absent)
- Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.(Absent)
- Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P. (Absent)
- Miss Amna Ally, M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice) (Absent)
- Miss Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent)
- Mr. Jerome Khan, M.P. (Absent)
- Dr. George A. Norton, M.P. (Absent)
- Miss Myrna E.N. Peterkin, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)
- Mr. James K. McAllister, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) (Absent)
- Miss Lurlene A. Nestor, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)
- Mr. Abdul Kadir, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent)
- Mr. Ricky Khan, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini) (Absent)
- Mrs. Rajcoomarie Bancroft, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
- Mr. Nasir Ally, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne) (Absent)
- Miss Judith David, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni) (Absent)
- Miss Genevieve Allen, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

(ii) Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (2)

Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mrs. Shirley J. Melville, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

(iii) <u>Rise, Organise and Rebuild Party (1)</u>

Mr. Ravindra Dev, M.P. (Absent)

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, C.C.H., Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker stated that -

- the Hon. Samuel Hinds, Prime Minister, was performing the functions of the President during the absence of the President from Guyana, and would not therefore be present at that sitting of the Assembly,
- (ii) The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, was performing the functions of the Prime Minister, and
- (iii) leave from that day's Sitting had been granted to Mr. Deryck Bernard.

21

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, on behalf of the Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Foreign Affairs:

Annual Report of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for the year 1999.

(Circulated)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Second Reading

1. ACQUISITION OF LANDS FOR PUBLIC PURPOSES (AMENDMENT) BILL 2001 -Bill No. 11/2001 published 8.8.2001

The Minister of Transport and Hydraulics moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the Acquisition of Lands

for Public Purposes Act.

(Read a first time on 9.8.2001)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mrs. Shirley Melville The Minister of Finance Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan.

The motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was thereafter taken through its remaining stages and passed as printed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.49 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

An aulessan

HARI N. RAMKARRAN Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

16th August, 2001.