NATIONAL ASSEMBLY MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 12TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2003) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 2.00 P.M.

ON MONDAY, 19TH MAY, 2003

IN THE CONVENTION CENTRE, OCEAN VIEW INTERNATIONAL HOTEL, LILIENDAAL, GREATER GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (68)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government (37)

- (i) People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)
- (ii) Non-elected Ministers (2)
- (iii) The United Force (1)
- The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications
- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport
- The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education
- The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P., Minister of Finance
- The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water
- The Hon. Navindranauth O. Chandarpal, M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Region No. 3 -Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Fisheries, Other Crops and Livestock (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

- * The Hon. S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Foreign Affairs
- * The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., Minister of the Public Service

The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

The Hon. Bibi S. Shadick, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

** The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce (Absent)

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs (Absent)

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health (Absent)

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Cyril C.L. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Mr. Husman Alli, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Heeralall Mohan, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mr. Ramesh C. Rajkumar, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) (Absent - on leave)

Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P.

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Water (Absent)

Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) (Absent)

Mr. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P.

*Non-Elected Minister

**Elected Member from The United Force

Members of the Opposition (30)

(i) People's National Congress/Reform (27)

Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent - on leave)

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.

Mr. C. Stanley Ming, M.P.

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

Mr. Vincent L. Alexander, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Andy Goveia, M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P. (Absent)

Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P. (Absent)

Miss Amna Ally, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice) (Absent - on leave)

Miss Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Mr. Jerome Khan, M.P.

Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.

Miss Myrna E.N. Peterkin, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

Mr. James K. McAllister, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) (Absent)

Miss Lurlene A. Nestor, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Abdul Kadir, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Mr. Ricky Khan, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) (Absent)

Mrs. Rajcoomarie Bancroft, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

Mr. Nasir Ally, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Miss Judith David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Miss Genevieve Allen, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

(ii) Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (2)

Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.

Mrs. Shirley J. Melville, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

(iii) Rise, Organise and Rebuild Party (1)

Mr. Ravindra Dev, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mrs. Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.28 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to the following Members:

Mrs. Amna Ally, and

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, for that day's sitting.

REQUEST FOR LEAVE TO MOVE THE ADJOURNMENT OF THE ASSEMBLY ON DEFINITE MATTERS OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE -

Flooding at Linden

A request by Mr. Vincent Alexander, to seek leave to move the adjournment of the Assembly, was disallowed by the Speaker.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

Bills - Second Reading - Deferred

ITEM 1 - KIDNAPPING BILL 2002 - Bill No. 15/2002 published 2002-12-05

At the request of the Minister of Home Affairs, consideration of the following Bill was deferred:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to provide for the punishment of the offences of abduction, wrongful restraint and wrongful confinement for ransom and other related offences and for matters incidental thereto.

(Read a first time on 2002-12-05)

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.35 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

HARI N. RAMKARRAN

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,
Public Buildings,
Georgetown.

19th May, 2003.