NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 29TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2004) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 2.00 P.M.

ON WEDNESDAY, 14TH APRIL, 2004

IN THE CONVENTION CENTRE, OCEAN VIEW INTERNATIONAL HOTEL, LILIENDAAL, GREATER GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (68)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government (37)

- (i) People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)
- (ii) Non-elected Ministers (2)
- (iii) The United Force (1)
- The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications
- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation (Absent)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport (Absent)
- The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education
- The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P., Minister of Finance
- The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water (Absent on leave)
- The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Region No. 3 -Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Fisheries, Other Crops and Livestock (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

- * The Hon. S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Foreign Affairs
- * The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., Minister of the Public Service (Absent - on leave)

The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

The Hon. Bibi S. Shadick, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

** The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Cyril C.L. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Mr. Husman Alli, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) (Absent)

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Heeralall Mohan, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mr. Ramesh C. Rajkumar, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P.

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Water

Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) (Absent)

Mr. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P.

Mr. Neendkumar, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

*Non-Elected Minister

**Elected Member from The United Force

Members of the Opposition (30)

(i) People's National Congress/Reform (27)

Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent - on leave)

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent)

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. C. Stanley Ming, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Vincent L. Alexander, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Miss Amna Ally, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice) (Absent - on leave)

Miss Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Jerome Khan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Dr. George A. Norton, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Miss Myrna E.N. Peterkin, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent - on leave)

Mr. James K. McAllister, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) (Absent - on leave)

Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Miss Lurlene A. Nestor, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Abdul Kadir, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Ricky Khan, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) (Absent - on leave)

Mrs. Rajcoomarie Bancroft, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)

Mr. Nasir Ally, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) (Absent)

Miss Judith David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) (Absent - on leave)

Miss Genevieve Allen, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent - on leave)

(ii) Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (2)

Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mrs. Shirley J. Melville, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

(iii) Rise, Organise and Rebuild Party (1)

Mr. Ravindra Dev, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mrs. Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.18 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave:

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to:

The Hon. Shaik Baksh and

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer Westford, up to 15th April, 2004

Mr. Odinga Lumumba for that day's sitting

Mr. Robert Corbin

Mr. Winston Murray

Mrs. Clarrisa Riehl

Mr. E. Lance Carberry

Mrs. Deborah Backer

Mr. C. Stanley Ming

Mr. Vincent Alexander

Mr. Raphael Trotman

Mr. Basil Williams

Mrs. Volda Lawrence

Dr. Dalgleish Joseph

Miss Amna Ally

Miss Sandra Adams

Mr. Jerome Khan

Dr. George Norton

Mr. James McAllister

Dr. Carl Max Hanoman

Miss Lurlene Nestor

Mr. Abdul Kadir

Mr. Ricky Khan

Miss Judith David

Miss Genevieve Allen, up to 16th April, 2004 and

Mrs. Sheila Holder, up to 18th April, 2004

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

BUDGET SPEECH 2004 - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2004

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2004.

(Moved by the Minister of Finance on 2004-03-29)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Ravindra Dev

The Minister of Education

The Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

The Minister of Foreign Affairs

The Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

The Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.00 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.40 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development continued and concluded his speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury

Dr. Bheri Ramsaran

Mr. Heeralall Mohan

Mr. Neendkumar

Mrs. Shirley Edwards

ADJOURNMENT

At 7.45 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the sitting was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Thursday, 15th April, 2004.

HARI N. RAMKARRAN

Al Raw learn an

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,
Public Buildings,
Georgetown.

14th April, 2004.