NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 52ND SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2005) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON THURSDAY, 3RD MARCH, 2005 IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (68)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government (37)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)</u>

(ii) Non-elected Ministers (2)

(iii) The United Force (1)

The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation

The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P., Minister of Finance

The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

- The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Region No. 3 -Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) (Absent - on Leave)
- The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

- The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Fisheries, Other Crops and Livestock (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
- * The Hon. S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Foreign Affairs
- * The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (Absent)

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., Minister of the Public Service

- The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics
- The Hon. Bibi S. Shadick, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- ** The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health

- Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip
- Mr. Cyril C.L. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.
- Mr. Husman Alli, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
- Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.
- Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.
- Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.
- Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.
- Mr. Heeralall Mohan, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Mr. Ramesh C. Rajkumar, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P.
- Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Water
- Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Mr. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Neendkumar, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)

*Non-Elected Minister **Elected Member from The United Force

/...3

Members of the Opposition (30)

- (i) <u>People's National Congress/Reform (27)</u>
- Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.
- Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
- Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip (Absent on Leave)
- Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.
- Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.
- Mr. C. Stanley Ming, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Vincent L. Alexander, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.
- Mr. Basil Williams, M.P.
- Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.
- Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P.
 - Miss Amna Ally, M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice) (Absent)
 - Miss Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent on Leave) Mr. Jerome Khan, M.P.
 - ____, ___, _ ___, _ ___, _ ___,
 - Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.
 - Miss Myrna E.N. Peterkin, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent on leave)
 - Mr. James K. McAllister, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) (Absent) Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, M.P.
 - Miss Lurlene A. Nestor, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent on leave)
 - Mr. Abdul Kadir, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)
 - Mr. Ricky Khan, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
 - Mrs. Rajcoomarie Bancroft, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)
 - Mr. Nasir Ally, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
 - Miss Judith David, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
 - Miss Genevieve Allen, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)

/...4

3.

(ii) <u>Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (2)</u>
Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.
Mrs. Shirley J. Melville, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

4.

(iii) <u>Rise, Organise and Rebuild Party (1)</u>
Mr. Ravindra Dev, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mrs. Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. Maurice B. Henry, Head Committees Division

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The sitting commenced at 2.20p.m.

PRAYERS

The Deputy Clerk read prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave:

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Miss Myrna Peterkin for that day's sitting.

/...5

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

BUDGET SPEECH 2005 - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2005

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2005.

(Moved by the Minister of Finance on 2005-02-21)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, The Minister of Health and Mrs. Deborah Backer.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.00 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.50 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport,

Mr. Raphael Trotman

and

Mr. Bernard DeSantos.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 8.15 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.50 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mr. Nasir Ally, Mr. Komal Chand, Mr. Ramesh Rajkumar, Mr. Ricky Khan and Mrs. Pauline Sukhai.

ADJOURNMENT

At 11.35 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the sitting was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Monday, 7th March, 2005.

MRauleas an

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

3rd March, 2005.

6.