<u>NATIONAL ASSEMBLY</u> MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 67TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2005) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

<u>AT 2.00 P.M.</u>

ON MONDAY, 18TH JULY, 2005 IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (68)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government (37)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)</u>

(ii) Non-elected Ministers (2)

(iii) The United Force (1)

The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications (Absent - on leave)

Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation

The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P., Minister of Finance

The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

1...2

- The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Fisheries, Other Crops and Livestock (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
- * The Hon. S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave)
- * The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., Minister of the Public Service

- The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics
- The Hon. Bibi S. Shadick, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- ** The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce (Absent on leave)

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

- The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health
- Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip
- Mr. Cyril C.L. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.
- Mr. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P.,
- Mr. Husman Alli, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni) (Absent)
- Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.
- Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.
- Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent on leave)
- Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.
- Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.
- Mr. Heeralall Mohan, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Mr. Ramesh C. Rajkumar, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P.
- Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Water
- Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Mr. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P.
- Mr. Neendkumar, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)

*Non-Elected Minister **Elected Member from The United Force

Members of the Opposition (30)

- (i) <u>People's National Congress/Reform (27)</u>
- Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)
- Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)
- Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip (Absent)
- Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent on leave)
- Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.
- Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. C. Stanley Ming, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mr. Vincent L. Alexander, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)
- Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mr. Basil Williams, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P. (Absent)
- Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P. (Absent)
- Miss Amna Ally, M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice) (Absent)
- Miss Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent)
- Mr. Jerome Khan, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Dr. George A. Norton, M.P. (Absent)
- Miss Myrna E.N. Peterkin, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent on leave)
- Mr. James K. McAllister, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, M.P. (Absent)
- Miss Lurlene A. Nestor, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent on leave)
- Mr. Abdul Kadir, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent)
- Mr. Ricky Khan, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini) (Absent)
- Mrs. Rajcoomarie Bancroft, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
- Mr. Nasir Ally, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne) (Absent)
- Miss Judith David, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni) (Absent)
- Miss Genevieve Allen, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

(ii) <u>Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (2)</u> Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P. Mrs. Shirley J. Melville, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) (Absent)

(iii) <u>Rise, Organise and Rebuild Party (1)</u>

Mr. Ravindra Dev, M.P. (Absent)

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly Mrs. Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The sitting commenced at 2.11p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leadership as a Vital Tool against HIV/AIDS

Guyanese Parliamentarians Fighting HIV/AIDS

The Speaker reminded Members about the Seminar on Leadership as a Vital Tool against HIV/AIDS Guyanese Parliamentarians Fighting HIV/AIDS, scheduled for July 19 - 20, 2005 at Embasea Court Yard Conference Room in Georgetown.

4.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILLS - Report from Select Committee and Third Readings

ITEM 1 - VALUE-ADDED TAX BILL 2005 - Bill No. 3/2005 published on 2005-03-12

The Minister of Housing and Water, on behalf of the Minister of Finance, moved:

That the Report of the Special Select Committee on the Value-Added Tax Bill 2005, be adopted.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. James McAllister and Mrs. Sheila Holder.

In reply the Minister of Housing and Water, moved the following amendment to the motion: Substitution of a "comma" for the "full stop" at the end of the motion and add the following:

Subject to the re-committal of the Bill in respect Clause 45 to a Committee of the Whole Assembly.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 2.43 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 3.18 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

Assembly resolved itself into Committee.

In Committee

Clause 45

The Minister of Housing and Water, moved the following amendment:

For the full stop at the end of subsection (1) substitute a colon and insert the following proviso -

"Provided that the Commissioner cannot proceed under this subsection unless he has obtained an Order of the Court in respect of the tax due.".

The amendment was put and carried.

Clause 45 was passed as amended.

Assembly resumed.

On a motion by the Minister of Housing and Water, the Value-Added Tax Bill 2005 was read the third time and <u>passed</u> as <u>amended</u>.

ITEM 2 - EXCISE TAX BILL 2005 - Bill No. 4/2005 published on 2005-04-11

The Minister of Housing and Water, on behalf of the Minister of Finance, moved-

- The Report of the Special Select Committee on the Excise Tax Bill 2005 was adopted, and
- (ii) The Excise Tax Bill 2005, was read the third time and <u>passed</u> as <u>amended</u>.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3.25 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to Thursday, 21st July, 2005.

Wanka man -----

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

18th July, 2005.